Notices
Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

Servo Over Rotation

Old 01-03-2020, 01:34 PM
  #1  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Over Rotation





I have an old Minium Piper Cub that I want to resurrect but I have a problem with two of the servos. They are over rotating.
The elevator servo just spins continuously, so the elevator itself continues to move up and down, full deflection.
And the aileron servo turns as far as it can go, and then gets stuck.

Does anybody have any idea why this might happen? And more importantly is there a solution?
Old 01-03-2020, 09:40 PM
  #2  
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen / Nederland
Posts: 492
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Always turn on Tx first, followed by Rx. Always turn off Rx first, followed by Tx.

Loose/disconnected outer servo potentiometer wire.
www.modelbouwforum.nl

Gelukkig Nieuw Jaar Name:  wink.gif
Views: 41
Size:  1.0 KB Ron
Without a watt-meter you are in the dark ... until something starts to glow
e-flight calculators watt-meters diy motor tips&tricks Cumulus MFC

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 01-03-2020 at 09:46 PM.
Old 01-04-2020, 03:04 AM
  #3  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ron_van_sommeren View Post
Always turn on Tx first, followed by Rx. Always turn off Rx first, followed by Tx.

Loose/disconnected outer servo potentiometer wire.
www.modelbouwforum.nl

Gelukkig Nieuw Jaar Attachment 2266029 Ron
Without a watt-meter you are in the dark ... until something starts to glow
e-flight calculators watt-meters diy motor tips&tricks Cumulus MFC

"Always turn on Tx first, followed by Rx. Always turn off Rx first, followed by Tx."

Yes, I always do that.


"Loose/disconnected outer servo potentiometer wire."

No. On the aileron servo there are no loose wires. And on the elevator servo there aren't even any wires as it's mounted straight onto the circuit board.
Old 02-27-2020, 01:25 PM
  #4  
cliff1959
Member
 
cliff1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: South West England
Posts: 38
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Did you discover what was wrong?
Old 02-27-2020, 01:55 PM
  #5  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cliff1959 View Post
Did you discover what was wrong?
No. And too late now. I binned it. Just took off the bits that I might find useful. The rest is now landfill. :-D
Old 09-08-2020, 05:03 AM
  #6  
LisaHamiltonEu
Junior Member
 
LisaHamiltonEu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: England London
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

hi everyone

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.