Notices
Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

great planes wrightflyer

Old 09-26-2005, 06:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default great planes wrightflyer

im new to the smaller side of electrics and the chance came up for me to try my luck when we marked the wright flyer down 80% at work. looked good but had a few queryable parts in the instructions. the ailerons had to be cut out partially leaving about 4 10mm " hinges in the foam. i scrapped this idea as my little 9 gram servo had a hard time getting the required throws, good old sticky tape was used to fix the problem. then i had the elevator control connection problem. there was not a thing in the instructions to remidy the "elevon" effect that the canards seemed to do, one side would always be up more then the other and it would change trim. i ignored this being only $38 and went for the maiden flight anyway. i managed to keep it up but it wasnt easy at all. it was very unpredictable and full power was needed to have any sort of control. i was very dissapointed as i wanted to have an indoor flyer but there was no way in hell this thing would fly slow enough for indoor. i did not know that the geared motors had adjustable thrust line, only way i noticed is when they loosened up and mid flight the prop hit the wing. after soughting that out it didnt seem too bad to fly but the elevator was still playing with the roll trim. for the plot of this story read, didnt go straight, couldnt avoid tree, now its in the bin and im up 2 small geared motors and a speedcontrol and 350mah pack.

Old 09-26-2005, 06:12 AM

Default RE: great planes wrightflyer