RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-indoor-micro-rc-flight-182/)
-   -   Air Hogs Havoc Heli battery no longer charges (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-indoor-micro-rc-flight-182/6822848-air-hogs-havoc-heli-battery-no-longer-charges.html)

mrsmiller 12-29-2007 06:41 PM

Air Hogs Havoc Heli battery no longer charges

Hey all,

I apologize if this is in the wrong part of the forum; I may have missed the "help me" section of this wonderful place. Hoping perhaps y'all can help me figure out how to fix this, as I have googled and have found nothing. (That might just have been due to the distraction of the upset kid screaming about his broken toy helicopter, though!) Please bear with me, as I'm still learning the terminology for RC vehicles and mechanical components.

For Christmas my son received an Air Hogs Havoc Heli. It's a little thing, about six inches long, and it seems to be made out of some type of styrofoam-like stuff. When the cord on the controller is plugged into the helicopter, it's supposed to charge. (Charging mode is indicated by a light on the controller--when the light goes off, it's done charging). It used to charge just fine, and we'd get anywhere between four and six minutes of flight time. Now the little light on the controller just flashes on for a second, and then won't charge any further. We get about 15-30 seconds of flight time from the charge it does get.

As it's been opened and played with, we can't return it--store policy. So, we decided on trying to fix it first, and if we can't fix it, replacing it once I've saved my pennies again.

What we've tried:
1. Plugging the helicopter into a different known-good controller to charge. (This didn't work.)
2. Plugging my husband's (known-good) helicopter into the boy's controller to charge. (It's also an Air Hogs Havoc Heli mini copter, and it DOES charge just fine on boy's controller.)