Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Lightning Build

Old 12-23-2013, 12:22 PM
  #551  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That's a photo of the rear supports for the rear of an inrunner. I saw them on the template sheet but was hoping for something for the mounting the front of the motor gearbox via a Hyde softmount. I'm guessing when I get to that point, probably early in the build, I'll have to figure something out that will mount somewhere in the vicinity (or replace) F2.
I've read Jeff's build a couple of time, - just did again, and do not see the pic you attached. There are two areas he mentions attaching pics but the pics don't show up-I wonder if that is where they should be.
Thanks again,
Old 12-23-2013, 12:34 PM
  #552  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

nice pic fred I will post mine tonight iam about at the same place but iam making foam wings steve . What motor are you running
Old 12-23-2013, 12:38 PM
  #553  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Silver bullet Jeff mounts to former 1 and then installs the rear mount depending on motor. Iam using out runner and made new former 3A out of 1/4 ply to mount motor steve

Last edited by 69 roadrunner; 12-23-2013 at 12:42 PM.
Old 12-23-2013, 01:00 PM
  #554  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Utrecht, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 69 roadrunner
nice pic fred I will post mine tonight iam about at the same place but iam making foam wings steve . What motor are you running
Great! Looking forward to see your progress. I will be using the good old AXI 5330/F3A on 10S
Old 12-24-2013, 05:31 AM
  #555  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bob,

I use a Budd mount for my inrunner. The motor mount attaches to the aft side of F1, and the gear box screws directly to that. If you need more information on the front mount, I will try to snap a picture later.

Jeff
Old 12-24-2013, 06:30 AM
  #556  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff,
I don't know why I didn't look at the Budd mount - probably because I've only used Hyde mounts for years. I did some laying out of the motor/mount using the Hyde mount and it looked like I was going to need to redesign and reposition F2 for the front Hyde mount. The rear support looks like it can come from F3 (laminated with c.f.).

Do you leave F1 at 1/8" with c.f. or do you increase the thickness for mounting an inrunner?

I'm definitely going to order a Budd mount for this plane.

Thanks for the information, this will same me a lot of time and work.

Bob
Old 12-24-2013, 06:43 AM
  #557  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fred sorry didn't get to pictures but will. Iam running the hacker A6-70 on 10s
Old 12-24-2013, 01:13 PM
  #558  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bob,

My firewall is 1/8" balsa end grain laminated with carbon fiber. 1/8 light ply laminated with carbon fiber should be more than adequate.

Jeff
Old 12-24-2013, 02:27 PM
  #559  
Junior Member
 
mnevzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Istanbul TURKEY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mnevzat
Jeff, many many thanks for plans. So I also now have a F3A!!!!...............

My works for F3A and final.
https://www.hobbyrc.com/forum/thread...9#.UheNktKzJI4

Originally Posted by Viper Driver
Mnevzat,

Very nice work fitting the engine and pipe in the airplane and great job overall. Let us know how it flies.

Jeff

And finally maiden of my Lightning built F3A

Jeff, many thanks again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1ibHUJ2Xnk

Last edited by mnevzat; 12-24-2013 at 02:32 PM.
Old 12-25-2013, 06:48 AM
  #560  
 
Turk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 1,085
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Öhhhh, güzel olmuş ama o inekler de neyin nesi oluyor??
Old 12-26-2013, 04:13 AM
  #561  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: IstanbulTR, TURKEY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well done mnevzat....
Old 12-26-2013, 04:53 AM
  #562  
Junior Member
 
mnevzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Istanbul TURKEY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Many thanks Turk1, ehakan.

Sizleri buralarda görmek çok güzel.
Old 12-26-2013, 07:07 AM
  #563  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mnevzat, congratulations on a successful test flight! The airplane looks fantastic. I really enjoyed being able to see a Lightning fly half a world away.

Fred, your build is magnificent! I learned a thing or two looking at your pictures. I am excited to see how it comes out!

Jeff
Old 12-26-2013, 08:57 AM
  #564  
 
dloostler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nephi, UT
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mnevzat, Great looking plane, Looks like it flies nice. You have inspired me to get going on my Lightning. Job well done.




Dale
Old 12-26-2013, 12:20 PM
  #565  
Junior Member
 
mnevzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Istanbul TURKEY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff,
I owe special thank to you. Well calculated plan and this consequently very nice flying airplane.

Many greetings from half a world away.
Old 12-26-2013, 12:33 PM
  #566  
Junior Member
 
mnevzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Istanbul TURKEY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

dloosler,
Many thanks. You should have to this plane. It is really a submissive, what do you think it is doing it. Tremendously enjoyable it to fly
Old 12-29-2013, 07:32 AM
  #567  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff,
I just purchased a Budd mount and tried it with my Neu motor. Attaching the mount to the rear of F1 puts the motor/thrust washer/prop too far forward. I don't know if I need to build a different (larger) F1 and mount it about 1/2" rearward of the original F1 location and then fill in the space in front of the new F1 with block balsa with liteply towards the spinner.

Can you please send a photo of your installation with the Budd mount. Thanks, Bob

Last edited by Silver Bullet; 12-29-2013 at 08:34 PM.
Old 12-31-2013, 05:49 AM
  #568  
My Feedback: (121)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: glen allen, VA,
Posts: 2,269
Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Congratulations Mnevzat a great looking and flying Lightning! What is it powered with?
Old 01-01-2014, 06:55 AM
  #569  
Junior Member
 
mnevzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Istanbul TURKEY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Many thanks flywilly.

First I had used a pipe-tune OS RX 1.40 engine but I've had some troubles with it and I was forced to remove. It powered with OS FX 1.60 engine now. There are a few photos about of this at the page #20, answer #479 (Pipe-tune).

Last edited by mnevzat; 01-01-2014 at 07:08 AM.
Old 01-03-2014, 07:20 PM
  #570  
 
dloostler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nephi, UT
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff,

Do the carbon strips under the wing sheeting have to be in a certain spot? There is no reference on the plans as for placement for the carbon strips.
Old 01-04-2014, 06:07 AM
  #571  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Dale,

I run one strip along the high point for the length of the wing. The second strip is parallel to the aileron hinge line, forward of the line by about an inch. This strip runs from the wing root to a point several inches outboard of the aileron cut out.

Jeff
Old 01-04-2014, 06:32 AM
  #572  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bob,

Sorry I skipped your post. It looks like you will need to move F1 back to accommodate the extra length. I would make it bigger to account for the difference in fuselage size at that location. Here is a link to a picture of mine http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/atta...5&d=1375575992 If you decide to leave it where it is and fill in with extra balsa, you would have to run a smaller spinner and make sure you don't go over 2m in overall length.

Jeff
Old 01-09-2014, 03:28 PM
  #573  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff what prop are you running
Old 01-09-2014, 04:23 PM
  #574  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Viper Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Archer City, TX
Posts: 397
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am running a 21x14 PT Models prop.
Old 01-15-2014, 07:55 PM
  #575  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jeff on your wings how far do you run your servos in on aleron looking at plans it looks like six inches butt that is only 1/4 of aleron is there a set distance thanks Steve

Last edited by 69 roadrunner; 01-16-2014 at 08:35 AM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.