Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

field charging lipos

Old 07-03-2012, 11:52 AM
Rudy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default field charging lipos

Hi all, I want to be able to charge myLipo batteriesat our field. We have no power there. 12v or 24v deep cycle batteries are what I want to use. I have a 730i Hyperion charger. I don’t want a genset, tough the portable power source stations are cool.

<o></o>

What works? And, how do you figure out how many batteries can charged from a deep cycle battery from a DC charger?<o></o>

<o></o>Rudy

Old 07-03-2012, 12:13 PM
shannah
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: field charging lipos

I use an Optima Blue Top deep cycle battery. I get 2 full charges from it at the field, sometimes 3 if I don't run the packs down too far. It is small and relatively light. I have been using this battery since late 2007 and it is still going strong. The key is to have a good, intelligent, battery charger for it. The maintenance charge cycle is really, really important. I happen to charge mine off a Minn Kota charger. Don't use one of the auto store cheapo chargers. It will kill that battery. The charge cycle needs to have the multiple charge profiles that most intelligent chargers provide. I also sometimes charge it from my Iota 55 (when I am at a contest). I am not sure if the Iota has an equivalent charging profile to the Minn Kota. I also leave it connected in maintenance charge mode for a few days each week.
Old 07-03-2012, 12:28 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

I have a box with 3 chargers - 2 for power packs and one for Rx/Tx. We have power at the field, but truthfully, I rarely get more than 5 flights in a day. It would be easier to just have 5 fully charged packs and bring them to the field. I usually end up having to dis-charge something.