Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Old 03-24-2013, 03:46 AM
  #51  
martair
Member
 
martair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Hi all

Well, I received my Prolog! Unfortunately I received the old Prolog V1 competition version :-(
I am in the progress of sorting things out now. They will have to deliver a new canopy to me to turn it into a SE V2.

Nevertheless, I inspected the parts and have to say I have never seen a better quality before!!
It is amazing how they do this. The plane is extremely light and everything lines up just perfectly!

I am in the possession of a prototype example of the new Leomotion F3A motor, and that is most probably the motor to pull this model.

Next thing is looking at all the information available and then select the servos and accessories I want. I will probably order the same pushrods as in this post.
When it comes to servos I am tempted to use the Hyperion Atlas Digital HV servos. I use them on almost all of my planes and they are very good at an amazing price.
They are accurate, programable and center perfectly. It is also possible to program the speed.
I had some discussions with friends from the F3A scene in Switzerland but nobody seemed to be able to make sense of BJ`s suggestion of a speed of 0.19s for the rudder!?
Does anybody has some fund knowledge and can explain why the servo has to be that slow?
My colleagues all agreed that the faster the better!?

Anyway, I will post again once I get my hands on the model. I am currently on leave again and will start building in April.


Martin
Old 03-24-2013, 03:52 PM
  #52  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

FWIW Chris will be shipping the orders on Tues or Wednesday at the latest. The shipment got delayed in customs, At least were sure now. Thanks for everyones patience. Mike Mueller
Old 03-28-2013, 12:22 PM
  #53  
Chris Moon
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Chris Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 1,366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

After several Customs and delivery delays, we have the planes in hand are shipping the back orders and have a few remaining for immediate delivery both ARF and ARC.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51780.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	1867551  
Old 04-03-2013, 12:08 PM
  #54  
Chris Moon
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Chris Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 1,366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

These are the factory notes on the Prolog V1 and most of it applies to the F3A Unlimited version as well.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10325.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	119.0 KB
ID:	1869778   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vr53261.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	113.1 KB
ID:	1869779   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fk15708.jpg
Views:	314
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	1869780   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ga77476.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	1869781   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mx23156.jpg
Views:	254
Size:	94.0 KB
ID:	1869782   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ne56421.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	1869783   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oq23296.jpg
Views:	295
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	1869784   Click image for larger version

Name:	On45394.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	1869785  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq17071.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	110.0 KB
ID:	1869786   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mz16877.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	114.8 KB
ID:	1869787   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ag37139.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	1869788  
Old 04-03-2013, 12:11 PM
  #55  
Chris Moon
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Chris Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 1,366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

A scan of the outrunner firewall template - adjust as necessary to fit your motor.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45625.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	1869789  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:05 AM
  #56  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

A number of people have contacted me about getting a new style cab forward canopy for their version 1 Prolog's. They are now in stock limited supply.
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=786
They are painted to match the original scheme.
Thanks, Mike Mueller
Old 04-19-2013, 03:36 PM
  #57  
NJRCFLYER2
My Feedback: (42)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

What size spinner is needed?
Old 04-19-2013, 05:41 PM
  #58  
GeoffreyH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: FolsomCa
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Hello fellow sportsmen.
I just wanted to post some picture of the Prolog that I built and have about 8 flight one now.
Mike Muiler was right his is a great flying plane and Icould not be happy that Ibought it from F3A Unlimited.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37068.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	1874100   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up47142.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	111.8 KB
ID:	1874101   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ej11949.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	1874102   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wq42210.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	83.9 KB
ID:	1874103   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gr93135.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	1874104   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gw29437.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	1874105  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:46 PM
  #59  
danamania
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stewartsville, NJ
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Nice!  Tempting too: I have a Himax 210 / HV2 80 that came out of the Vanquish I sold last fall.  With the firewall, is the motor a captive install?  And if so, does that matter?
Old 04-20-2013, 05:48 AM
  #60  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Nice job of putting the plane together Geoffrey. The Himax Castle combo has proven to work well. Right now we are out of the CCHV80 ESC. They are changing it to a new model. In the meantime we are offering a Jeti 99 Opti for a slight upcharge. They are very stout and also work well.
We are down to one Prolog SE in stock. As you guys know it takes a while to place the order have them built and then have them shipped via container.
We have an ample supply of the Competition versions and they can be modified to be an SE version with a new canopy and landing gear.
I've known since the first flight I had on my Prolog that it was a special plane. Thanks for all the kind words. Mike Mueller
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98633.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	185.4 KB
ID:	1874207  
Old 04-24-2013, 04:32 AM
  #61  
GeoffreyH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: FolsomCa
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Hello, I am unclear on what a "captive install". I can tell you the motor comes out thorough the front. I was able to cut a circle with a diameter with about 2 mm of extra space left. make the fire wall from light 1/4 ply ( used regular plywood, I think from bass wood ) mount motor, hang from tail to approximate the 3.5 degrees and 1-1/5 degrees of thrust or just get the 1/16th in spacer to the nose and d the angle will be correct ), epoxy, add fiber glass cloth. done.

great motor great power, on an APC.
Old 04-24-2013, 05:02 AM
  #62  
danamania
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stewartsville, NJ
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Got it, the motor come out through the front. Thx.
Old 04-27-2013, 05:27 AM
  #63  
NJRCFLYER2
My Feedback: (42)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Just wondering where most of the Prolog drivers have been locating the rudder servo. Not sure that Iwant the weight of 3 servos in the tail, but how has it been working out for those that have done the install that way?
Old 04-27-2013, 05:43 AM
  #64  
maustin
My Feedback: (7)
 
maustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pasadena, Tx
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Ed, I mounted mine in the tail as designed and was very skeptical at first but I really like it. Very solid and -0- slop setup. I used a 8411 and have had to actually slow the speed down. The rudder is very effective on this plane.

maustin
Old 04-27-2013, 05:48 AM
  #65  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Ed I only know of a couple of guys who have bypassed the rudder servo in the tail. It's meant to balance with it back there.
I think you'll find the tail mounting setup is very slick.
The last one I built I used the Secraft servo mounting tray:
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=509
They add a little weight but are really easy and well made.
The next one I do I'm going to drill a bunch of holes in it to lighten it up.
Having the rudder hooked up in the tail makes for a solid slop free connection between the servo and the rudder. It works well.
The only downsides I can see are:
#1 is it bad to have weight away from the CG? One could argue makes stopping a snap harder and
#2 the extra weight of having another long servo extension.
For me having flown about 5 of the BJ Craft planes it feels fine in the tail.
Mike Mueller
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28670.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	1876487  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:16 AM
  #66  
svrcp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Ed I bulit one with a JR servo tray and two other I just make my own, we have also use the try that Mike said from Seacest and it works very well. Don't worry about the balnace it will come out just fine. We done all three palne the same Prolog, Episole, Nuance, using all three form.


Jr
Old 04-27-2013, 12:34 PM
  #67  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Mike,

Can I get a Episode painted like the New Prolog?

Bill
Old 04-27-2013, 12:59 PM
  #68  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Yes Bill
You can buy an ARC Episode:
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=721
Take the $600 you save and have JR or maybe Victor paint it for you. It'll come out a little cheaper,
Not trying to be cocky it's probably your best option. Thanks, Mike
Old 04-27-2013, 01:15 PM
  #69  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Really Mike?


2000/2001/2003 Don Lowe Masters competitor.
2009 Dist 2 FAI/F3A Champion
Sponsored by many once upon a time. I can list them for you.

And I get cocky response like my question was stupid. Don't you think I know JR could do it, since he did Archie's?

Com'on man,... ;-)

Bill
Old 04-27-2013, 01:32 PM
  #70  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Yeah sorry Bill that didn't come out right.
Truth is we just don't have the where with all to do custom paint schemes at this point. I should have said sorry no.
So I should have said I suggest the way I said.
Mike
Old 04-27-2013, 01:53 PM
  #71  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

It's kool,..just hit me wrong.

I would have problems seeing the colors on the ARF, as I am with the Nuance at certain angles. Archie's colors on his Episode actually make the plane look bigger in the air, so it presents better. Trying to decide if I can get an ARC completed and trimmed before the NATS. And the reason I asked.

Thanks

Bill
Old 04-27-2013, 02:58 PM
  #72  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

I wish they would consider a simplier scheme like Arch's too.
I think Andrew sticks with his traditional Karl Mueller USA Star design because its easy to see.
I will however say that when your selling planes a lot of guys love the new schemes.
In the future I hope to cover all the bases.
Also FWIW Tony Frak changed up his ARF some for visability purposes. Mike
Old 04-27-2013, 03:06 PM
  #73  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

I have made changes to mine already, but need to do some work on the fuse colors. Right now I need to fly it and dial it in.

Thanks,

Bill
Old 07-08-2013, 05:34 AM
  #74  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

The new style paint scheme Prolog SE ARF's are3 now back in stock.
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=736
Thanks, Mike

Old 07-08-2013, 03:55 PM
  #75  
GeoffreyH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: FolsomCa
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Here are Pictures of the Prolog I have complete. Good plane after 250 flights.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.