Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Old 07-08-2013, 04:00 PM
  #76  
GeoffreyH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: FolsomCa
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version


ORIGINAL: GeoffreyH

Hello fellow sportsmen.
I just wanted to post some picture of the Prolog that I built and have about 250 flights on now.
Mike Muiler was right,this is a great flying plane and Icould not be happy that Ibought it from F3A Unlimited.
Old 07-17-2013, 07:02 PM
  #77  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

We're officially back in stock and shipping the Prolog F3AUnlimited SE version ARF's and ARC's.
Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb86836.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	1901703  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:04 PM
  #78  
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 7,056
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Hey Mike, let me know if one happens to, uh, fall off the truck or something. I'm coming to Chicago this weekend (Friday/Saturday). Maybe we can meet up for a hot dog.
Old 07-17-2013, 07:10 PM
  #79  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Build thread BJ Craft Prolog V2 F3A Unlimited version

Got an ARC version that feel off the truck!!!
Let me know when you are in town. I'm off on Friday but leaving early on Saturday for the Nats.
Old 02-03-2014, 05:17 PM
  #80  
DLEVETT
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: GUELPH, ON, CANADA
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Mike,

Is F3A Unlimited going to be at the Toledo Weak Signals show in April?
Itwould be great to see one in person before buying.
I'm presently looking at getting a new pattern plane after being away from them for quite some time and am
considering getting either the Nuance or the Prolog ARC.

thx
Dave
Old 02-04-2014, 02:18 AM
  #81  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes Dave I won't have a booth but I will have stock if it's still available. I'm very low on a few items so who knows by April. Please just remind me and we can meet up. Thanks, Mike
Old 02-04-2014, 05:14 PM
  #82  
DLEVETT
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: GUELPH, ON, CANADA
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey Mike,

Thanks for the quick reply.
Ok. sounds good. I will contact you closer to the show.

thx
Dave
Old 02-08-2014, 06:57 AM
  #83  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Guys it has come to my attention that this plane while a very smooth and capable flier may require the BJ Craft Stab fence's. The plane as many know is really great but these can actually make it fly better.

http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=743

If you own the F3AUnlimited Version V2 and have not gotten these let me know. I'll send you a set free of charge but only if you bought the plane from us. Otherwise they are for sale at a minimal cost and I have enough to cover everything.
Any new Prologs sold will include a set of fences again free with purchase.
The Prolog V2 is a proven performer and a Nats winner and has proven to be the most popular plane we've sold in the last 12 months at F3Aunlimited.
Package deals are available and I still have a limited supply so give me a call and lets "get er done".
Thanks for all your support. Think warm it'll be spring soon.
Mike Mueller
F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
[email protected]
800 591 2875
Old 12-06-2014, 05:03 AM
  #84  
martair
Member
 
martair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi guys

I finally finished and flew my Prolog.
Here are some pics:





Installation of the wires.
I put a brace between the 2 frames over the vent opening since the bottom of the fuse was very soft and wobbly.




The installation of motor, ESC and Receiver/Batterie.




Close up on the Receiver/Batterie tray.




After the first flight the motor was at 78 deg C. A bit too high!
Then I made the air vents between the bolts that hold the rubber mounts much bigger.
Temp. is now 58 deg C! :-)




Here you can see that this fantastic spinner "pushes" the air thru to the motor (if it has enough room to do this ;-))

Flying the Prolog was a lot of fun. Very stable, tracks perfectly!
One thing I was hearing about this model was that the rudder is very sensitive, and it was proposed to slow down the speed of the servo!?
I cannot confirm this. To me, the rudder comes rather soft and predictable.
I even increased the deflection again after the first flight.

All in all I am very happy with the model!

As I said before, I am not flying competition. Do you guys think it would be a big improvement to have the DFTS wings for this model?
Since I also have a second canopy I am playing with the idea to instal the canalizer of the episode and see what this does to the model!?
Any opinions from the experts?

Cheers, Martin
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Prologa.jpg
Views:	1015
Size:	799.4 KB
ID:	2052603   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prolog1.jpg
Views:	881
Size:	602.0 KB
ID:	2052604   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prolog2.jpg
Views:	916
Size:	625.6 KB
ID:	2052605   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prolog3.jpg
Views:	820
Size:	592.3 KB
ID:	2052606   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prolog4.jpg
Views:	825
Size:	475.5 KB
ID:	2052607   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prolog5.jpg
Views:	782
Size:	515.2 KB
ID:	2052608  
Old 12-06-2014, 05:55 AM
  #85  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have flown the DTFS wings on the Nuance (with the stock stabs) and they work better with two wing fences out toward the tips (each wing, similar to AJ's plane). I found, as other FAI guy's have. That without the Episode winged canopy the missing square inches in the DTFS wings, relates to a faster paced sequence and the stall speed is not forgiving ( my experience). The snaps and spins are fantastic with the DTFS wings, no doubt.

I used stab fences and made wing fences and the Nuance did much better with tracking in and out, stall speed was helped and that equated to a slower flight envelope that locked lines. The stock wings are great for the AMA classes, not so good for FAI, very daggy compared to the DTFS wings. I spent an entire summer just experimenting with my Nuance until I was very happy with it. As, Indicated above..., the stab fences will help the Prolog too. All the BJ aircraft I have flown fly very good, like anything else, time needs to be spent on fine tuning them to your liking.

Regards,

Bill Holsten
Dist-2, 2009 FAI/F3A Champion.

Originally Posted by martair
Hi guys

I finally finished and flew my Prolog.
Here are some pics:





Installation of the wires.
I put a brace between the 2 frames over the vent opening since the bottom of the fuse was very soft and wobbly.




The installation of motor, ESC and Receiver/Batterie.




Close up on the Receiver/Batterie tray.




After the first flight the motor was at 78 deg C. A bit too high!
Then I made the air vents between the bolts that hold the rubber mounts much bigger.
Temp. is now 58 deg C! :-)




Here you can see that this fantastic spinner "pushes" the air thru to the motor (if it has enough room to do this ;-))

Flying the Prolog was a lot of fun. Very stable, tracks perfectly!
One thing I was hearing about this model was that the rudder is very sensitive, and it was proposed to slow down the speed of the servo!?
I cannot confirm this. To me, the rudder comes rather soft and predictable.
I even increased the deflection again after the first flight.

All in all I am very happy with the model!

As I said before, I am not flying competition. Do you guys think it would be a big improvement to have the DFTS wings for this model?
Since I also have a second canopy I am playing with the idea to instal the canalizer of the episode and see what this does to the model!?
Any opinions from the experts?

Cheers, Martin
Old 12-06-2014, 08:30 AM
  #86  
martair
Member
 
martair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi Bill

Thanks a lot for your comments...appreciate!

I do have the stab fences. Just wanted to fly the model first to see the difference.
I am trying to dial that plane in right now. Unfortunately it is a bit windy at the moment here in Dubai, which makes it
almost impossible. Unless you really see what the model is doing, and not the wind, it's pointless to mess around
with things!?

How did you mount the stab fences? Did you remove the covering or did you just glue them in place on the covering?

Interesting that you put fences even on the wings!? How did that change the performance of the Nuance?
Do you have a picture of that?

Do you think it would be worth to try and instal a canalizer?

Regards Martin
Old 12-06-2014, 08:57 AM
  #87  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I had any plane I wanted to fly this last summer. I flew an F3Aunlimited version Prolog.
It's a great plane. It doesn't have any bad traits just simple straight forward light well made good looking and affordable.
Some planes come and go quickly the Prolog has stood the test of time.
Good luck with it.
We have them in stock in 4 different versions
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/bj-craft...pecial-edition
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/bj-craft...ompetition-arf
Act now and I'll add free shipping.
Done in ARC or Contra retro fitted.
Mike
Mike Mueller
Old 12-06-2014, 09:12 AM
  #88  
Dave Harmon
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sperry, OK
Posts: 689
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by martair
Hi Bill

Thanks a lot for your comments...appreciate!

I do have the stab fences. Just wanted to fly the model first to see the difference.
I am trying to dial that plane in right now. Unfortunately it is a bit windy at the moment here in Dubai, which makes it
almost impossible. Unless you really see what the model is doing, and not the wind, it's pointless to mess around
with things!?

How did you mount the stab fences? Did you remove the covering or did you just glue them in place on the covering?

Interesting that you put fences even on the wings!? How did that change the performance of the Nuance?
Do you have a picture of that?

Do you think it would be worth to try and instal a canalizer?

Regards Martin
Hi Martin.....

I use RC/56 Canopy glue which is Fletching glue (holds feathers on arrows) to glue on the fences.
it is removable and clear drying and not brittle...does not damage or mar the covering.
I've done 3 airplanes this way with the BJ Craft Fences...the airplanes were a Prolog, Nuance and a Gaudius....the fences help a lot.
Use the template that comes with the fences from F3A/Unlimited to install the fences pointing straight ahead.
Old 12-06-2014, 09:19 AM
  #89  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I use the same thing Dave. It's bullet proof. Mike
Old 12-06-2014, 09:56 AM
  #90  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hey Martin,




Yeah.., I don't bother trimming in the wind either, CG I will, no mixing or wing adjustments. The stab fences can be mounted right over the covering with silicone (shoe goo.,RC56, I used a household sink/tub silicone that dries clear, be modest with the glue), and with a bit of heat from the heat gun you can carefully pull them off. Don't worry, they won't come off in the Dubai heat either.


Since, you are not flying competition with the Prolog, just experiment with it. I would try the Episode canopy, just remember the Episode has a taller Vertical stab. The Prolog and Nuance have a shorter one, so adding the canalizer may prove to cause more issues with tracking. However, you will probably be able to do some insane KE loops, LOL.


The one thing I did not do is save the pictures of my plane to my PC before I nuked my phone clean. The Nuance is currently getting a new refreshing look (new color scheme) and a change in covering. I have removed everything from the plane at this time. The wing fences are a half inch tall all the way around (top and bottom, they end at the trailing edge of wing) and I think the finial spacing was about 5 inches apart. I put the first one squared with the leading edge of the wing, just in front of the wing tip before it sweeps back on the DTFS wings. I ended up at 5 inches from that one with the second, inboard on the wing. Make them to big and it gets very draggy and affects the snaps. I also tried two stab fences on each side, one slightly smaller than the ones you can purchase from F3AU, didn't notice much of a difference with the stock wings at all. The DTFS wings with the wing fences and two stab fences were good, removed the second set and it seemed better, so I removed them permanently. It's all about how you fly and how you want a plane to feel to you.


The size I settled on proved to be the most effective with the least amount of compromise. Still snaps great, stops better, seemed to help with low speed tracking, landings were slower and more predictable (air channeled through the fences). My Nuance with the DTFS wings had a bad problem of just stalling without warning on landing, especially, if you side slipped it in the wind landing, calm days were even worse. Fairly fast landing plane with the DTFS wings or you had to work the throttle quite a bit landing. I have only flown a prolog, once and it flies very similar to the Nuance with the Nuance canopy. I believe the Prolog has a slightly different wing than the stock Nuance wing, maybe Mike can clarify that one?

Like this: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/atta...7&d=1417883237



I essentially stopped flying for three years, due to travel for my job. When I can back the air frame's I had flown in 2008/2009 were not agile enough for the new K-6 FAI/F3A maneuvers. After struggling a bit with my setup. I flew one contest with the stock wings and spent the rest of the season experimenting, to learn the newer style air frames (didn't fly another contest). Never be afraid to experiment with in reason, it's an educational process. I will be back next season, my Nuance will be my back up, until I can afford another new air frame like the one I currently have.


BTW: I made my wing fences out of 8mm depron to experiment with first, attached them with Foamy hinge tape (tough to get off). When I got to the size I wanted. I glued carbon fiber to both side's, really strong and nice and light (really thin balsa sheeting will work too), apply silicon.


Good luck,


Bill


Originally Posted by martair
Hi Bill

Thanks a lot for your comments...appreciate!

I do have the stab fences. Just wanted to fly the model first to see the difference.
I am trying to dial that plane in right now. Unfortunately it is a bit windy at the moment here in Dubai, which makes it
almost impossible. Unless you really see what the model is doing, and not the wind, it's pointless to mess around
with things!?

How did you mount the stab fences? Did you remove the covering or did you just glue them in place on the covering?

Interesting that you put fences even on the wings!? How did that change the performance of the Nuance?
Do you have a picture of that?

Do you think it would be worth to try and instal a canalizer?

Regards Martin

Last edited by AmericanSpectre505; 12-06-2014 at 10:00 AM.
Old 02-01-2015, 02:40 PM
  #91  
nosram
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I hope this thread is still alive.........?

I am just finishing up my Prolog, and about to mount the battery tray.

I would appreciate a heads-up as to where the CG should be?

BJ Craft suggest 260mm from the canopy rear corner, and Chris in this build thread suggests 285mm as a starting point.

Where have you guys finished up with your CG?

Thanks in advance,
Nick Marson
Old 02-02-2015, 05:37 AM
  #92  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Nick try the back edge of the wing tube. That's where I had mine.
The Prolog is still a very viable and popular seller. It's one of the best planes BJ Craft has ever produced. We still have them in stock ready for shipping.
Thanks and all the best. Mike Mueller
Old 02-02-2015, 07:08 AM
  #93  
nosram
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Mike.

It sounds like you went closer to the 285mm that Chris stated. BJ's 260mm is way off the back of the tube, hence my question.

Thank you again Mike,
Nick Marson
Old 02-02-2015, 03:51 PM
  #94  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes good that you asked. It'd fly okay at BJ's suggestion I just prefer it being a little more forward. I really think you will like the plane Nick.
Mike
Old 02-02-2015, 08:25 PM
  #95  
Smooth Pilot
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Stepping up your game a little are you Nick? I may have to put the Vanquish up and concentrate more on using the Episode to try and catch up with you now. LOL

Sheldon
Old 02-03-2015, 08:47 PM
  #96  
nosram
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Sheldon,
I hope so, the Vanquish didn't float.......... Besides I need to do something to try and beat you guys.

Mike,
Did you install the fences on the elevator? I don't recall seeing any at the Cajun Nats last year.........
Thanks,
Nick
Old 02-04-2015, 06:53 AM
  #97  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Nick the stab fences are a good idea but not on the elevators. Just the horizontal stab part that is stationary.
Mike
Old 02-04-2015, 01:20 PM
  #98  
nosram
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank Mike,
My bad, I meant what you said...............
Old 02-16-2015, 09:26 AM
  #99  
nosram
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mike,

Thank you very much for all of your help. I maidened the Prolog yesterday, with your C.G recommendation. I'm using the new Himax 6330PRO motor on 20.5x14.
The plane is fantastic, extremely smooth. Inverted 45 is pretty good, maybe can move CG back a hair. No left rudder coupling, about -1.0% mix needed with right rudder. The vertical downline is also just about spot on.
The new Himax is smoother and more powerful that the previous one, downloading the CC log I saw just over 3000 watts!!
Thank you once again Mike,

Nick Marson
Old 02-18-2015, 03:08 AM
  #100  
mups53
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Good news Nick
I just love the Prolog for so many reasons. It's an easy airplane to trim and very straight forward. There are few planes that are better for Masters on down.
3000 watts seems a little high although it is not hurting anything. I would dial it down on the throttle curve a tad Nick. You might also want to consider adding a Tech-Aero Throttle Tech at sometime.
The Himax 210Pro never fails to perform. It's got it all at an affordable price.
Now it's time to enjoy the plane. You'll find little things here and there that make it better. At least you have a good start.
All the best, Mike

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.