Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

Old 02-12-2013, 06:35 PM
  #1  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

I have a Plettinburg 30-10 motor in my newest (used) Envision pattern ship, Jason flew in the 2012 NATs, and I'm using a Jeti 77 opto spin controller, instead of the Castle HV-85 That came with it ( don't like having to carry my laptop around to program), and curious to what these motors prefer for their settings? I didn't get the motors paperwork.
Right now I'm set for 8 degrees for timing and default for all other settings, and yet to mess with a brake. I am getting a slight bark from the motor from a slow startup, but other than that, all seems good, cool and working well. My timing adjustments on my Jeti jump from 8 to 12 degrees from how I'm reading it, and several of my buds are using 12 degrees on similar El motors.
Just curious as to what folks are running on their settings, and why ?
Certainly a change from running a YS 170, but sure not using rags for cleanup, he he he
Thanks,

Jamie in Bama
Old 02-12-2013, 06:40 PM
  #2  
OhD
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,160
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

You should be at 24 degrees on the timing.

Jim O
Old 02-12-2013, 06:51 PM
  #3  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

Tried finding the motor info on the web, but its a hard find.
Why such a big difference from my buds at 12 degrees, Just wondering ?

Jamie
Old 02-12-2013, 08:05 PM
  #4  
JAS
My Feedback: (2)
 
JAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

Jamie,

On my Jeti's I use 24 degrees timing (triple start-up beeps) and 8khz. The castles are different from, I think, all other esc's in settings to accomplish the same things.

Jason
Old 02-12-2013, 10:19 PM
  #5  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

I'm running 24 degrees on mine using the OS 100-amp ESC. So far it seems to work like a champ. Using 65% brake, which also seems to work really well. I'm very pleased with both the 30-10 and the OS ESC.
Old 02-13-2013, 04:20 AM
  #6  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

I just don't want to screwup a good setup, and or motor, cause all my cheaper EL stuff doesn't have All the options of the Jetti controller, and it appears the OS controller even has more options to choose from .
Getting a new right knee replacement on Monday, otherwise I'd see you guys in Sebring FL. this weekend, but can't risk a car breakdown 550 miles from home, or something happening preventing me from making my check in on Monday .
Y'all have fun this weekend,
Thanks,
Jamie in Bama
Old 02-14-2013, 04:28 AM
  #7  
wagen017
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eindhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 969
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

The Pletty 30-10 is a very powerful motor. I ran it with a YGE-90 HV and a Jeti Opti-99. Amps run up to 85Amp, so I seriously wonder if the 77 can handle this!

Volkert
Old 02-14-2013, 06:05 AM
  #8  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

I have the motor propped down with a 22x10, and my amp draw with freshly charged lipos is drawing 73 amps. Also the Jetti 77 opto says its good for 77 continuous.
For more juice later down the road, I may try the OS controllers folks are raving about here in my area.
Thanks for pointing this out, cause there's a lot of folks messing with EL stuff that makes me a bit squeamish, and realize I'm on the limits of the controller, and could it could be easily be exceeded.
Old 02-14-2013, 06:09 AM
  #9  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

Never mind. And NEVER post before your coffee kicks in [&:]
Old 02-14-2013, 07:34 AM
  #10  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

You have to be checking pull from one of your 2 packs. Check your wattage, it won't lie, then multiply by voltage. Once you learn it, its very simple and straight forward.
Wattage will tell ya the story. I'm pulling 2900 watts at the 73 amps mentioned.
Old 02-14-2013, 10:03 AM
  #11  
wagen017
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eindhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 969
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

ORIGINAL: Silent-AV8R

Very interesting amp numbers. I've run 20.5x14, 21x13.5, 22x12 props on mine and I average around 28 amps. Peaks are higher, but overall the draw is in the 20-amp range. At 73 amps continuous a 5,000 mAh pack would last about 5 minutes or so.
I think the peak amps will destroy your controller, not the average.

Of course you don't use full power when flying a schedule.

I use an Eagle tree to measure.

Volkert
Old 02-14-2013, 01:12 PM
  #12  
OhD
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,160
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?


ORIGINAL: J Strong

You have to be checking pull from one of your 2 packs. Check your wattage, it won't lie, then multiply by voltage. Once you learn it, its very simple and straight forward.
Wattage will tell ya the story. I'm pulling 2900 watts at the 73 amps mentioned.
You should be okay with the Jeti 77. I flew one with the 30-10 EVO for many flights with even larger props. ESCs are normally spec'd at peak continuous current but that assumes adequate cooling. I added a heat sink to my ESC and mounted it right in the air scoop in the chin cowl. In normal flight conditions I seldom went over 75 Amps and the Jeti ESCs can take slightly higher currents for short periods of time. Having said that I'd recommend the Futaba/OS. It seems to run much cooler.

Not sure what you mean about checking the Wattage and multiplying by voltage? Bill was talking about average Amps and 28 is about right for a typical Masters/FAI flight but it is the peak amps times the time you pull it that causes high heat and eventual ESC failure. So the limit the time you are at full throttle, provide adequate cooling and don't use too large a prop and you will be okay.

Jim O
Old 02-14-2013, 02:08 PM
  #13  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

+1 on what Jim says about cooling. On my Abbra the ESC (OS 100-amp) sits directly in line with the Gaping Maw that is the chin scoop. Air blasts over the ESC and onto the batteries. BTW - the OS ESC is rated at 100-amps continuous and peaks of 150 amps for 5 second or less.

But run too big of a prop in a poorly cooled installation and it really does not matter what you use.
Old 02-14-2013, 04:38 PM
  #14  
J Strong
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattville, AL
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pletenburg 30-10 setup numbers?

If you take 37 volts (nominal lipo pack under load voltage) of your lipo, and , just say 70 amps of known draw, just those numbers tell ya the wattage, at that moment was 2590 watts of output power.
I probably wasn't clear in my post.
If ya know two of your values, the other value is just a matter of math .

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.