Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Old 04-01-2013, 04:46 PM
  #1  
kregan
Thread Starter
 
kregan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland, MD
Posts: 1,892
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Hi Guys,
I have been reading the positive reports on this forum about the E-flight 160
and would like to go ahead and convert my Brio over to Electric.

Do any of you see a problem with this setup:

Castle Creations HV85 speed control (I have an extra on hand)
E-flight 160 motor
5 cell 5000 mah (x2) for a 10 cell setup.

This would replace a OS140 rx with a carbon fiber pipe.

Thank you for the help.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61894.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	1869255  
Old 04-01-2013, 06:13 PM
  #2  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Looks like a good set up, make sure you choose the right prop combination for the motor and the airplane
Old 04-02-2013, 03:31 AM
  #3  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



ORIGINAL: Do any of you see a problem with this setup: Castle Creations HV85 ESC (I have an extra on hand) E-flight 160 motor 10S LiPo



Hello kregan: The Brio 2m F3A plane, seems clear you are talking about ..?



E-Flite Power 160: Kv 245;650g; Diam 63mm,Length 64mm -so is 6364-size; Uses 5330 stator.Cost: $149.99
http://www.gravesrc.com/EFLITE_NYA_P.../eflm4160a.htm



If we are considering a 650g / 690g motor, I would MUCH rather use: Turnigy SK3 6364-245kv $70.47
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18128



-These SK3 motors are made at Sunray Technology, the factory which manufactures: Hacker, Torque, Hyperion-Z motors; and Shulman Aviation FURY, Gens Ace, Precision Aerobatics Thrust motors, and others ... Turnigy SK3 are identical to Hacker motors, in all respects, and also have identical performance.
-Basically Turnigy SK3 motors are Hacker motors, for 30% of the price.
The SK3 motor is also cheaper than the E-Flite -and is a much better motor than the E-Flite.
see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11458227
and: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11433501



In my opinion, E-Flite motors look very "agricultural", and are not very sophisticated.



However, the Brio is a 2m F3A plane, so WHY NOT USE AN F3A MOTOR ... ??
see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11458236 post #80 onwards
-The E-Flite 160 is much heavier than most F3A motors(which weigh 550g to 590g).Ithas relativelyhigher Kv.Most F3A motors use a 5030 stator.



If it were me, the ESC I would use would be the 80A HV or the 120A HV Turnigy dlux.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ler_OPTO_.html
-These are also made by Sunray Tech, who also manufacture the Hacker, Hyperion Titan, E-F Airboss; Common-Sense-RC and Apache ESC's -to name but a few.
see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11452535



But you already have a CC ESC ...

Old 04-02-2013, 05:08 AM
  #4  
jetmech43
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,716
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

If you can keep the weight down, everyone seems to not like the power 160, I have the same combo you are going to use in my vanquish yes its heavier but it has lots of power, im useing PT 20-13 prop and I rarely use more than half throttle when doing the intermediate sequence, ask Don Szcur he use one as well as his son, they both fly FAI so for the money its a good motor.
Old 04-02-2013, 05:55 AM
  #5  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

This is just my own opinion: For a 2m F3A plane like the Brio:

a. My first choice would be: Turnigy F3A SK3 Competition Series 28 Pole Outrunner, 590g, Kv 240; $139.15
-This is basically the same 28 pole motor asa Hacker A60-20 S V2,Kv 245

b. My second choice (in USA)would probably be: Torque F3A "Silver Bullet", 580g, Kv 220, 28 pole; $225.
OR:Shulman Aviation FURY 60/67-230 "F3A", 590g, Kv 230, 28 pole $225
(they are both the same, apart from a small Kv difference -http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11458640
-This is because they are bothbasically the same 28 pole motor as a Hacker A60-22 S,Kv 217 (Torque);orA60-20 S, Kv 245 (Shulman Fury)

c. If in Europe, my 2nd choice would probably be: LiPolice LPA-F3A-5030-210KV, 580g, Kv 210,28 pole, $218
This is basically the same motor as the other three ...and is alsomade in the same Sunray factory as the other two ...
-And will have identical internal parts to the other three
And will have an identical performance to the other three ...
-It is basically the same 28 pole motor as a Hacker A60-22 S, Kv 217
Old 04-02-2013, 07:19 AM
  #6  
Anthony-RCU
My Feedback: (2)
 
Anthony-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

I converted my Brio from an OS 1.40 to e power and love it. It was always very heavy and draggy give anemic performance with the 2 stroke. The plane got shelved for a few years and converted with a Himax 6330-200. It was better but performance was a lacking. Next, a Pletti 30-09 gave spectacular performance but was tough on batteries with huge amp draw. Switched to a Neu F3A and things are great. Excellent power, brakes and throttling for <90amps with the same prop.

I have seen the Sczuzur's (sp?) planes and that motor does seem to work well for them. I have issues front mounting outrunners but again they seem to make it work. My Brio was an early carbon version the fuse is very heavy but it does seem nearly bulletproof. Cg has always been an issue for me so the weight of that motor may be an advantage. The little canopy and tail heavy bias make loading batteries a pain. I have had some cracks on the forward turtle deck from shoving my hands in there. It is tough to find straight landing gear that will give you enough ground clearance. The ES gear have worked best but not sure if he is still making them.

The Castle HV85 is a very solid controller. What firmware do you have? I don't remember all of the early versions but v1.56 was the best. You could set the brake very high without issue and it worked well. The motor did make an annoying "ding" noise when the brake engaged that sounds like an elevator just reached its floor. According to the engineers you can't switch the firmware back past v2(?) although some claim they have. It is a bit crude with a steep throttle curve, start up isn't as smooth and it is without out the error codes. Don't go beyond v3.2 with an original Phoenix controller. The processor isn't robust enough to run the newer firmware and you will get surging at high throttle.

FlyingCajun gave me some great help to put the wings at .7 degrees positive and cg @ 23% MAC. Now it flies awesome. It handles F-13 very well and has been a lot of fun. I am definitely going to question whether to fly this or my Passport this year!

Good luck and let us know how you make out.
Old 04-02-2013, 11:31 AM
  #7  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??


ORIGINAL: Anthony-RCU The Castle HV85 is a very solid controller. You could set the brake very high without issue and it worked well
Great advice, Anthony.
Also the point about the brake settings. With a basic ESC like Turnigy dlux, can only set brake on / off.
CC Phoenix HV-85 has several brake setings.
Also the Jeti SPIN Pro is good for brake setting parameters.

Anyway, really great advice ... Lots of motors that you tried on that Brio...! Just a Hacker is missing from the list ...

Old 04-02-2013, 07:57 PM
  #8  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



Just a thought: If thinking about an E-Flite 160, why not go for the Turnigy G160 ?
-They are exactly the same motor, and the G160 is half the price:



Turnigy G160, 245kv, 649g, D63 L66 $72.31
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...160_Glow_.html



Here are some user comments from the HK website:
" ... Fitted to Sebart 110 for advanced schedule, the power train is . . . G160, 100HV ESC, 10S2P 5000mAh. At 1500m altitude:
turnigy 17x10 @55 amps = 4.5 Kg thrust
apc-e 18x10 @55 amps = 5.0 Kg thrust
apc-e 19x10 @55 amps = 6.0 Kg thrust. ..."



" ... This motor is visually almost identical with Axi 5330 and Power160 as well ..."



" ... Use it on 120 class 81in' TBF, with graunper 16*8 3 blade prop, 2 6S 4000mah 20C for 12S, TURNIGY Sentilon 100A HV 5-12S
60A, 2952W at max output. It's comes with nearly 8000g thrust. I love it! ..."



" ... Great motor! 100A ESC, 10S 4500Mah (25C) with 19/10 wood prop draws 60A and 2450W, with 16/8 3-blade prop draws 48A with 2100W. Motor barely gets warm. Great torque and power! ..."



No-one seems to have reported when using a typical F3A prop -but this motor will perform identically to the E-Flite 160 ...

See: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11466598 posts #136 and #137


Pic shows: 1,2, The G160 looks identical to a Himax motor, to a TopModel X-Power motor, and to an AXI motor ...
Pic 3 shows the E-Flite Power 160 has the same backplate as the G160 -they are probably the same motor, made in the same factory ...

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51639.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	1869638   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51218.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	1869639   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59476.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	1869640  
Old 04-02-2013, 09:12 PM
  #9  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Two questions.

1) Are you associated/employed/sponsored/compensated with/by Hobby King?? You seem awfully fond of their products and spend a lot of time in various forums telling people that you think their stuff is the same as name brand. Not trying to open that can of worms, mostly just trying to fathom why it seems so important to you to spread the Gospel of Hobby King.

and

2) What experience do you have flying electric powered F3A pattern planes?
Old 04-02-2013, 10:12 PM
  #10  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

ORIGINAL: Silent-AV8R 1) Are you associated/employed/sponsored/compensated with/by Hobby King??
2) What experience do you have flying electric powered F3A pattern planes?
1. I am a Medic, and not associated with HobbyKing in any way whatsoever.
-My investigations are done purely out of curiosity, see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11426913/tm.htm

2. I have been flying F3A planes for at least 13 years(as well as many other types of planes,but pattern planes are my favourite).
-I have been flying RC planes for >30 years, and was flying control-line aerobatics in early 1970's.
I started flying electric planes in the early 1990's, and got into brushless motors and LiPo's as soon as they first appeared in ~2001 ...(first on Shockie indoor planes)
Old 04-02-2013, 10:29 PM
  #11  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



ORIGINAL: Silent-AV8R You .... spend a lot of time in various forums telling people that you think their stuff is the same as name brand ...



Silent-AV8R: It is not a question of me "thinking" that this is the case. And it is not at all about "HobbyKing" stuff -it just happens that they sell the Turnigy SK3 motors which are made bythe SunRay Tech factory.
No, the issue is MUCHMUCH wider than HobbyKing, or Hacker or others.
It is aboutone single factory making the same exact motors for morethan 25 different brand names. We do know, without any doubt whatsoever, that Hacker, Hyperion-Z, OK Hobby Infinite and Turnigy SK3 motors are all made together at the Sunray Technology factory in Shenzhen, China.



-And not only are these motor brands made at this Sunray factory. Many others are also made at this factory, including: Extreme Flight Torque, Shulman Aviation FURY, Gens Ace, Common-Sense-RC, LiPolice, Pelikan Foxy, Viper VA, Apache, Pilotage Nova-Line, MegaPower Taurus, Lipotech, Sonic Electric, BMI Models "Spitz" motors, Precision Aerobatics Thrust motors, Boost motors (from Pichler -sold by Robotbirds in UK), JP E-Pro motors; ELE motors (now discontinued) -there are probably more than this, we just don't know about them yet ..
-That is why all these motors have basically identical specs and completely identical performance
-Hacker motors are just the same as all the rest -they are totally IDENTICAL internally and in performance -and there is no earthly reason at all why we should pay 4 or 5 times as much for a Hacker or E-F Torque motor ..



ALSO: We know that O.S. motors, and Futaba motors, are also made at this Sunray Tech factory.



In addition to this, we now know that Sunray also make the ESC's for most of the same brands that they make brushless motors for. -This a relatively new finding.
see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11452486 post #43 onwards.



We know for certain that Sunray make the following ESC's: Hacker X-Pro; Hyperion Titan; Extreme Flight Airboss; Common-Sense-RC; Sonic Electric; Gens Ace; OK Hobby Infinite; Shulman Aviation FURY ESC's; Apache; LiPolice; Pilotage Nova-Line; BMI Spitz standard ESC's; BMI Spitz data log ESC's; HDX Brushless 35A ESC; JP E-PRO ESC's; and also: ELE-RC "Advance" ESC's (now discontinued);

In addition, Sunray Tech also make Turnigy dlux ESC's., and Turnigy Trust ESC's.
It is also very likely indeed that Sunray make Jeti ADVANCE and Jeti SPIN ESC's; see http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11463027
They may also make Precision Aerobatics Quantum ESC's (they DO make PA Thrust motors ...)



See: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11465548
(and also perhaps: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11465908 )

Old 04-02-2013, 10:42 PM
  #12  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



Silent-AV8R, Why would I be exposing all the con tricks played by these different brands,
-and why would I be doing objective scientific testing of all the motors,
If I was asssociated with HK, or any other company, in any way ...?



See: pics of Motor Thrust Test Stand that I am using to scientifically test and measure all the motors ...

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fc90158.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	111.8 KB
ID:	1869659   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80974.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	1869660   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47410.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	1869661  
Old 04-03-2013, 05:49 AM
  #13  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Fair enough. I'll just assume that you are a dyed in the wool HK fan then since it seems that much of your "scientific" testing yields the same result - HK products are the same as the name brands.
Old 04-03-2013, 07:40 AM
  #14  
gdaddy
Member
 
gdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Thank you Dr Motor for all your posts. I find this very helpful and informative. That said, I just bought a Pletty Advance. Have you tested one of these??Guy
Old 04-03-2013, 08:28 AM
  #15  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

ORIGINAL: gdaddy Thank you Dr Motor for all your posts. I find this very helpful and informative.
Thank you very much indeed,gdaddy. I really appreciate this comment. Very much.

Pletty Advance. Have you tested one of these?
Guy, I would love to test a Plettenberg motor.
But I have only recently -several weeks ago -started this formal and objective testing of motors. I have now tested (in stator size):
1 1705 motor
3 1709 motors
32113 motors
2 3020 motors- i.e. Hacker A30L size

-and I still have 3025 motors to test - i.e.Hacker A30 XL size.
and I still have 4025 motors totest -Hacker A50 S size
and also some others ... i.e. 4030 stator size

And then I findit takes time to analyse the data, and write about it ... And I have to do this in spare time ...

And so far, I have only posted the report on the 1705 motor - http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11463161/tm.htm


SO: IN TIME I WILL GET ROUND TO SOMETHING LIKE THE PLETTY ...

IF SOMEONE WANTS TO SEND ME ONE FOR 2 TO 3 DAYS TO TEST, THAT WOULD BE GREAT ...

JUST PM ME, AND WE CAN ARRANGE THIS ...
I WOULD ONLY NEED THE MOTOR FOR2 TO 3 DAYS ...
Old 04-03-2013, 08:49 AM
  #16  
silva916
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: oeding, GERMANY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

DRMOTOR.

Very interesting, keep up posting !!!

Gr Frank.

Old 04-03-2013, 09:13 AM
  #17  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



ORIGINAL: Silent-AV8R I'll assume that you are a dyed in the wool HK fan.... your "scientific" testing yields the same result - HK products are the same as the name brands
Silent-AV8R: You overlook one very obvious point: The reason that the Gens Ace, the Hacker, the Turnigy SK3 and the Hyperion-Z motors all give totally IDENTICAL results on the Test Stand -is because underneath the purple/ silver / blue /green coloured outside wrapper, they are all EXACTLY THE SAME MOTOR UNDERNEATH.

-That is why they all have the very same specs, and that is why on the test stand, they all give totally IDENTICAL resuts -for current, RPM, thrust, everything ....



I am not a dyed in the wool anything fan -I use whatever is best, and I always use the proper tools for the job -including brushless motors.



PLEASE NOTE: I am not just testing "HobbyKing" SK3 motors -I am also testing Hacker, Hyperion-Z, Gens Ace, Foxy, and I will also test some LiPolice motors.
-So we can eliminate your quite inappropriate comment, about this " ... only being to do with HK ...".
This whole re-branding business -is a MUCH WIDER ISSUE THAN "HK" or than Hacker...

What we have here, is the SunRay Technology factory making EXACTLY the same motor for at least 25 different brands -and to hide that they are all exactly the same motor, they just give them different outside colours, and some different shaped end housings ...
-But inside, underneath the outer clothes, they are all exactly the same ...



And for some of these identical motors, depending on their brand name,we end up paying 4 or 5 times as much,for the very same identical motor ...



-Dr Kiwi (Phil M) has tested many OK Hobby Infinite motors (his test stand will go up tomotors~100g) and it is very clear from his results that these Infinite motors are ALSO identical with Hacker, Hyperion-Z, Gens Ace, Turnigy SK3, LiPolice etc etc -and come from the same SunRay factory as all the others.



If Hacker really was 10% better, or 20% better, or 30% better, or 50% better than some of the others, then I would not mind paying 3 or 4 or 5 times as much for a Hacker. Not in the slightest ....



But what I do NOT like -and it is now incredibly clear -is that Hacker is EXACTLY the same motor as: Hyperion-Z, Gens Ace, Turnigy SK3, Common-Sense-RC, LiPolice, OK Hobby Infinite, Shulman Aviation FURY etc etc etc
-And yet we are STILL paying 4 or 5 times as much for a Hacker motor, compared to the others -when it is a completely IDENTICAL motor to all the others ...



That, I doNOT like ...

Old 04-03-2013, 12:29 PM
  #18  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

ORIGINAL: silva916 Very interesting, keep up posting !!!
Buona sera a voi. Grazie per il buon messaggio.

Hello Frank, thanksVERY much indeed for this message. I really appreciate it.
Please also contribute this other thread - http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11426913/tm.htm
-which seems to be generating quite a lot of interest -judging by fact it has had~6,000 views in a short time ....

I will certainly keep posting -when I have something that is worth saying ...
Old 04-03-2013, 01:07 PM
  #19  
Henning
 
Henning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

Who is paying for the R&D and the engineers designing the motors? Sunray or Hacher?
Old 04-03-2013, 02:50 PM
  #20  
silva916
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: oeding, GERMANY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??


[quote]ORIGINAL: DrMotor

ORIGINAL: silva916 Very interesting, keep up posting !!!
Buona sera a voi. Grazie per il buon messaggio.

Hello Frank, thanksVERY much indeed for this message. I really appreciate it.
Please also contribute this other thread - http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11426913/tm.htm
-which seems to be generating quite a lot of interest -judging by fact it has had~6,000 views in a short time ....

I will certainly keep posting -when I have something that is worth saying ...
[/quote

Personly i found out that the Sunrise/Himodel ICE 150 ( € 50 ) is exacly the same as my YGE 160 ( € 299 ) i have them both.
So now i have ordered a Sunrise/Himodel 100 HV what possebly good be an YGE 90 HV ( wich is an top F3A esc )
The only thing i`m surtain of is that Pettenberg Motors are made in Germany , becaus i saw it with my own 2 eyes.
The same i can say from the Hacker Fai/competion motors, and the knew F3a motor from Urs Leodolder ( Swisserland )
http://www.leomotion.com/shop/USER_A...dbc5380909e99f

Gr Frank

Old 04-03-2013, 03:47 PM
  #21  
F.Imbriaco
My Feedback: (56)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lebanon, NJ
Posts: 468
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

I have a Brio since it was new in 2006. Converted it last year to a Himaxx 6330-210, CC Phoenix 80 HV, APC 20.5 x 14. A great combo . Previously, it had an OS 140 RX piped. The ship is approaching 400 flights( 97 with electric) and I highly recommend the conversion." Anthony RCU" gave me some encouragement and advice . What he says about tight quarters for loading batteries is true, but it isn't too large of an obstacle.

I had mine out last weekend in some stiff crosswinds- the performance is very satisfying. Much, much more power with this set-up than glow.

Its on the heavy side, but not a pig. I'm using Gens Ace 5300 5S bricks which are heavy, but very robust. Remember to make provisions for entering/ extracting cooling air and you'll be fine.

The Himaxx 6330-210 has worked out so well that I've installed one in my new Griffin.
Old 04-03-2013, 06:34 PM
  #22  
DMichael
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 969
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

K- the e flite will work great. You know I converted to electric. I also have an e-flite 160 in an Extreme Flight Extra. Give me a call.

Dave
Old 04-03-2013, 06:40 PM
  #23  
kregan
Thread Starter
 
kregan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland, MD
Posts: 1,892
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

WOW thank you guys for the great info!

My Brio is the Kevlar version, Don S. put me in touch with the importer several years ago.
Apparently he had hand picked a kit (based on weight) for himself that he never built... That
is the one I purchased. It seems very light to me. The weight might be in the build thread I did
here years ago.

(edit)here is the original build: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_48..._1/key_/tm.htm

As for battery loading I wonder if I could come up with a sliding tray like the trex 700 heli?
hmmmm Maybe a CF style tray with guides if I can keep it light. I make a few items for
heli's at cnceffects.com, maybe I can start a pattern section? LOL

What do you think about front vs rear mounting for this plane... It seems a rear mount would
be lighter with the firewall setup for glow ?

I only fly basic with a little extra tossed in so it's not like I need all the power that the more
advanced pilots would need.

Thank you all again!
Old 04-03-2013, 09:29 PM
  #24  
Anthony-RCU
My Feedback: (2)
 
Anthony-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??

The sliding tray idea sounds great. Insert the batteries and then slide them forward and lock them in place. Sounds much better then the velcro I struggle with.

Old 04-03-2013, 11:02 PM
  #25  
DrMotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: M, S, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-flight 160 for a Brio ??



ORIGINAL: silva916 Personly i found out that the Sunrise/Himodel ICE 150 ( € 50 ) is exacly the same as my YGE 160 ( € 299 ) i have them both.
So now i have ordered a Sunrise/Himodel 100 HV what possebly good be an YGE 90 HV ( wich is an top F3A esc )



Yes silva916, you are quite right. The HiModel ICE 150 (2 to 6 LiPo) is the same as the SunriseModel ICE ESC, and is made by the SunriseModel factory e.g. http://www.himodel.com/sort.php?sub2=FO&brand=6



However, the SunriseModelICE ESC's are also sold by the "dreaded" HobbyKing -as "YEP" ESC's (obviously a very similar name to "YGE" ...! -meant to make us all think that these are identical to YGE ESC's)
-The "YEP" ESC's are all just ICE ESC's, made by Sunrise Model see: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11216615
-and seem in many ways, identical to YGE ESC's ...



There are: 45, 60, 80, 100, & 150A S-BEC (2 to 6S LiPo) models of the "YEP" ESC (-which are, of course, basically "YGE" )
and there are also: 80A HV, 120A HV & 180A HV OPTO YEP ESC's -which take 4 to 14S LiPo.
e.g. YEP 80A HV (4~12S) (OPTO) $107.99 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ler_OPTO_.html



As far as prices are concerned, it is up and down:
The 100A HV is $151.93 at HiModel - http://www.himodel.com/electric/ICE_...0A-ICE_HV.html
and the 120A HV YEP one is $118.16 at HK - http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ler_OPTO_.html (there is no 100A HV model in the YEP range)

However, the 120A HV isonly$90.06 at HiModel http://www.himodel.com/electric/ICE_...0A-ICE_HV.html
-It is quite strange that the 120A HV model is cheaper than the 100A HV model ...



The YEP 150A (2~6S) SBEC ESC (the one that you mentioned) is $54.99 at HobbyKing (it is not HV) - http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

The 180A HV is $199.99 at HK, and $217.39 at HiModel



All these "YEP" ESC's,of course, because they are made by SunriseModel, use the exact same program card as both the YGE and Sunrise ICE ESC's
- http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ming_Card.html
and: http://www.yge.de/artikel.php?search=ygeprogcardiii and: http://www.himodel.com/electric/LED_...ires_ESCs.html



-The YGE, SunriseModel ICE, and the HobbyKing YEP program cards are inter-changeable ... !
It is not clear whether SunriseModel have simply copied the YGE ESC's -in a completely and totally exact way -or whether SunriseModel actually make all the ESC's for YGE, and have simply re-branded them to sell as HiModel ICE and HobbyKing YEP brands.



Whatever, it is very clear that HobbyKing "YEP" and HiModel ICE ESC's, cost less than 1/3 ofthe same amp rating YGE ESC.
http://www.yge.de/artikel.php?search=yge120lv
http://www.yge.de/artikel.php?search=yge160hv


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.