Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

Old 06-06-2013, 12:59 PM
  #1  
kregan
Thread Starter
 
kregan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland, MD
Posts: 1,892
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

I tend to over think things and looking at my motor mounting options for my the Brio
is no exception.

On my OS140RX I had a hyde mount with 1/8" ply glued to the back and the thrust
angle was sanded into the ply. I could do the same for the electric but that requires
removing the motor to adjust.

I started to draw up a 3 point adjustable mount that could be adjusted in the field, then
permanent shims cut at the shop. I stopped and said "self" just shim the damn thing
and fly it! LOL

So how are you guys dealing with thrust line angles with the electrics?

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	If10564.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	1889384   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70077.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	1889385  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Ax73224.pdf (131.4 KB, 26 views)
Old 06-06-2013, 01:37 PM
  #2  
kregan
Thread Starter
 
kregan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland, MD
Posts: 1,892
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

or simply do this and shim as needed
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68801.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	88.3 KB
ID:	1889397  
Old 06-06-2013, 01:56 PM
  #3  
Jeff Worsham
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

Recently graduated to my first 2M electric and I thought this adjustable mount would make for easy adjustments. Problem was that I couldn't accurately/consistently control each adjustment. So it's funny you ask- I gave up on adjusting the mount yesterday, went to shims and had much better results trimming today.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43244.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	361.3 KB
ID:	1889398  
Old 06-07-2013, 03:24 AM
  #4  
KGSS28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hartsville, TN
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

Shims work for me .
Old 06-07-2013, 08:48 AM
  #5  
Anthony-RCU
My Feedback: (2)
 
Anthony-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjustable motor mount or just shim it?

When I converted my Brio I cut a new firewall so the motor was flush. Any adjustment just required small shims.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.