Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

BJ Craft Motor Mount Questions - ALL Airplanes

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

BJ Craft Motor Mount Questions - ALL Airplanes

Old 09-09-2013, 11:35 PM
  #1  
Doug Cronkhite
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,821
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default BJ Craft Motor Mount Questions - ALL Airplanes

Hey all,

I'm interested in putting together a database of motor mount dimensions for all of BJ's airplanes. Ideally I'm going to make up a CAD drawing for each airplane with the motor options. Can those of you who've built airplanes of his reply here with the following info:

Motor Used
Diameter of Front or Rear plate (depending upon how it's mounted)
Diameter of mount bolts, and on what centers (distance from center of prop shaft to center of bolt)
Old 09-10-2013, 04:29 AM
  #2  
shannah
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: placentia, CA
Posts: 1,167
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi Doug
it won't be that easy.. If you look at post #170 on the Bi Side thread I posted my starting dimensions for the template I made. But the final firewall was shaped to fit and wasn't that exact dimension. As for mounting, the pletty Advance 30-10 uses a 40mm bolt circle with 6 4mm bolts.

It was different on the Episode since the spinner is a smaller dimension. The mount was not circular, it was sort of oval shaped at the bottom. I think I posted my basic dimensions on the Episode thread but, once again, those were starting points and not the final exact dimensions.

It might be easier if we send B.J. the exact motor dimensions so he can generate the firewall drawing from his CAD model for the fuselages. He has a model for a hard mounted Neu F3A-1. But, most people are soft mounting that motor so he would also need the Budd mount details or the Hyde mount info. The Pletty and Q80 are hard mounted so motor dimensions would suffice. I'll send him a note and see what he thinks.
Old 10-09-2013, 11:46 AM
  #3  
DaleT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: North Myrtle Beach
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

In aircraft using the Himax firewall setup, are the motors generally directly hard-mounted to the firewall?
Old 10-09-2013, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Portlandflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 365
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DaleT View Post
In aircraft using the Himax firewall setup, are the motors generally directly hard-mounted to the firewall?
Yes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.