Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Question for Himax 6330 Pro Users

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Question for Himax 6330 Pro Users

Old 07-31-2022, 04:18 AM
  #1  
GorillaToast
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Shawnee Hills, OH
Posts: 111
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Question for Himax 6330 Pro Users

This is my 2nd 6330 Pro. The first one I front mounted in a pattern plane using the conversion kit. This one is rear mounted on a motor box in a Yak 54.

It seems like it should be obvious, but without using the front mount conversion kit, the standard prop shaft is only long enough for an APC electric prop to fit without a spinner backplate. If anyone has rear-mounted this motor, how did you attach the spinner?

Old 07-31-2022, 06:36 AM
  #2  
wattsup
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 713
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Easy, just install the spinner backplate as usual then the APC prop and finally insert the prop screw and washer then tighten it up. The Himax prop attachment on the 6330 Pro motor is clean, neat and reliable.I agree, it is different than front mounted conversion kit.
Old 07-31-2022, 08:05 AM
  #3  
GorillaToast
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Shawnee Hills, OH
Posts: 111
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wattsup View Post
Easy, just install the spinner backplate as usual then the APC prop and finally insert the prop screw and washer then tighten it up. The Himax prop attachment on the 6330 Pro motor is clean, neat and reliable.I agree, it is different than front mounted conversion kit.
So, you think that having only part of the prop hole in contact with the prop shaft will be sufficient?
Old 07-31-2022, 09:54 AM
  #4  
wattsup
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 713
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Absolutely. I ran a Himax 6330 Pro motor in my Proteus for 3 years with 2 and 3 Blade props mounted this same way and NEVER had an issue. You will see...
Old 07-31-2022, 10:35 AM
  #5  
GorillaToast
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Shawnee Hills, OH
Posts: 111
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Ok. That's the kind of experienced advice I can trust!

Thanks.
The following users liked this post:
wattsup (07-31-2022)
Old 08-06-2022, 02:04 PM
  #6  
GorillaToast
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Shawnee Hills, OH
Posts: 111
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

You were absolutely right, wattsup. The prop bolt and washer hold it on even with a spinner backplate and only 1/4 of the prop hole touching the shaft.

Thanks.
Old 08-06-2022, 04:08 PM
  #7  
wattsup
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 713
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Great to hear and am pleased it all worked out for you. Wish you continued success.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.