Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Old 05-18-2007, 12:48 PM
  #1  
xalm04
Thread Starter
 
xalm04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Quito, ECUADOR
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Hi, I was helping a friend of mine to set his brand new Hacker 13XL, but its start of it is very hard, and even sometimes the propeller turns backwards half a turn before it runs normally. It has the new MasterSpin 99 which I'm not familiar with, because I have a Master Acro 90 with a Hacker 14XL. Almost all settings are programed as my Acro 90, but there is an option to set number of poles (6 is default). Does anybody know if this setting has to be programed for the Hacer 13XL, and if so which is the correct setting? Thanks. If anybody has the complete set of correct (or best) settings for 13XL and 14XL would be great also.
Old 05-18-2007, 04:10 PM
  #2  
Scott Smith
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Scott Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Agawam, MA
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

from [link=http://www.espritmodel.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=4611]espritmodel[/link] - 2 pole, 0 to 5 degrees, 8kHz
Old 05-18-2007, 04:27 PM
  #3  
xalm04
Thread Starter
 
xalm04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Quito, ECUADOR
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Thanks a lot. What is the difference when you use 0 degrees or 5 degrees?
Old 05-18-2007, 04:40 PM
  #4  
Scott Smith
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Scott Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Agawam, MA
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL


ORIGINAL: xalm04
What is the difference when you use 0 degrees or 5 degrees?
I asked Jeti this question specific to a Hacker A60 outrunner:

for outrunners we recommend timing between 20 and 30 degree.
The higher timing you use, you have higher RPM and current too.


Old 05-19-2007, 02:36 PM
  #5  
OhD
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,160
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

I tried the Jeti Spin 99 on my Hacker C50 and was not happy with how it starts. Just like you describe. I'm hoping it will be okay on my outrunner. It seemed fine during bench testing.
Let us know if you get it working on the C50.

Jim O

ORIGINAL: xalm04

Hi, I was helping a friend of mine to set his brand new Hacker 13XL, but its start of it is very hard, and even sometimes the propeller turns backwards half a turn before it runs normally. It has the new MasterSpin 99 which I'm not familiar with, because I have a Master Acro 90 with a Hacker 14XL. Almost all settings are programed as my Acro 90, but there is an option to set number of poles (6 is default). Does anybody know if this setting has to be programed for the Hacer 13XL, and if so which is the correct setting? Thanks. If anybody has the complete set of correct (or best) settings for 13XL and 14XL would be great also.
Old 05-21-2007, 09:03 AM
  #6  
xalm04
Thread Starter
 
xalm04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Quito, ECUADOR
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Do you think that maybe MasterSpin 99 is not appropiate for Hacker C50? Or just are some setting problems?
Old 05-21-2007, 04:10 PM
  #7  
Scott Smith
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Scott Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Agawam, MA
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

ORIGINAL: xalm04

Do you think that maybe MasterSpin 99 is not appropiate for Hacker C50? Or just are some setting problems?
From the [link=http://www.hackerbrushless.com/motors.shtml]Hacker[/link] website:

We recommend the Hacker Master Series Controllers for use with the C50 Series Motors
Old 06-04-2007, 02:38 AM
  #8  
flyf3a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Elizabeth, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 150
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Hi

I am about to run my new Hacker 14 XL Acro with Spin 99 controler. Has any one managed to sort the problem out as previously identified.

Burt
Old 06-04-2007, 09:26 PM
  #9  
xalm04
Thread Starter
 
xalm04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Quito, ECUADOR
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Hi Burt. we just checked a 14XL and a 13XL with MasterSpin 99 and now both are working fine. We just put the ESC curve to exponential setting, this allows a smoother start, and when you want to start it, do it without hesitation, then throtle back to your desired idle RPMs (as low as you want). With these few tips my friends achieved a satisfactory perfomance on the controler and motor. I hope it helps.
Old 06-06-2007, 02:04 AM
  #10  
flyf3a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Elizabeth, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 150
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Hi

Thanks, this is how I was using my Acro 90 controller so had no problem with the Spin.

Regards
Burt
Old 06-11-2007, 10:34 AM
  #11  
J Lachowski
My Feedback: (46)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 948
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MasterSpin 99 # of poles setting for Hacker C50 13XL

Anyone care to share/list their settings for the Masterspin 99 and C50 13XL Comp?

I am particularly interested in the setting for Acceleration. Default is 1S. The higher the setting the softer. from what I was told. I experimented on the ground with 2S. Seemed OK, but I just don't have the experience to really know if it is right and proper. The instruction recommend like 2S for larger props and 5S or more for helicpoters.

Has anyone set up the braking feature on the Masterspin 99 and tried it?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.