Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pattern Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Castle Ice ESC's need input

Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Castle Ice ESC's need input

Old 01-25-2010, 11:16 AM
  #1  
mups53
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Castle Ice ESC's need input

Does anyone know anything about these?
What size for a 10S 2 meter plane typical setup with an outrunner?
I use the HV85's and a YGE now. What advantages will this have? TIA, Mike Mueller
Old 01-25-2010, 11:27 AM
  #2  
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 7,056
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input

I'm getting the ICE HV 80. I've been talking to a pattern guy who has a lot of experience with Castle Creations, and the ICE HV80 should do everything the HV85 does and more. I asked about the data logging, and while it doesn't have the same amount of memory or expandability the Eagletree logger, it should be more than sufficient.

So for a 2M ship, right now the options are the 80 and the 160 controllers. With a typical outrunner I would thing the 80 should be fine; I'm running a 110 size plane but running on 10S with an outrunner, and shouldn't need to run more than 65-70A continuous. Castle Creations says they have more stuff in the works, so maybe something in the 110 area may be coming up? I couldn't wait that long and ordered an ICE HV80 from Tower.

You can poke around in the regular pattern forum - there are some comments on the ICE HV, I think in APC or Data Logging threads?
Old 01-25-2010, 11:33 AM
  #3  
mups53
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input

OK then I've heard of people switching to these but how?
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/712120.asp
The specs say it only goes up to an 8S. Thanks again, Mike
Old 01-25-2010, 11:33 AM
  #4  
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 7,056
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9284977
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9406997
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9250179
Old 01-25-2010, 11:38 AM
  #5  
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 7,056
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input


ORIGINAL: mups53

OK then I've heard of people switching to these but how?
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/712120.asp
The specs say it only goes up to an 8S. Thanks again, Mike
You need the HV model for 10S:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXYVB1&P=ML
Old 01-25-2010, 11:52 AM
  #6  
petec
My Feedback: (58)
 
petec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input


ORIGINAL: mups53

Does anyone know anything about these?
What size for a 10S 2 meter plane typical setup with an outrunner?
I use the HV85's and a YGE now. What advantages will this have? TIA, Mike Mueller
Mike,

I talked to Lockhart about these and am planning on trying one now that the HV version is available. The price point is good on it so what do I really have to lose as I will still have a pair of Phoeninx HV85 on the shelf and an Eagle Tree.

It will be a very interesting learning experience. I'll probably pick one up at Toledo.

Pete
Old 01-25-2010, 12:22 PM
  #7  
mups53
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Algonquin Illinois IL
Posts: 2,347
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Castle Ice ESC's need input

Ahhh haaa.
I didn't know there was a HV available. Thanks guys you've as always been very helpful. RCU rocks for pattern!!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.