Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

When to buy batteries?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 12:24 AM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default When to buy batteries?

I know some guys have a plan when they buy their lipos, since they go bad with time. I'm just starting out - should I go ahead and get all 3 or 4 sets for the start of the season, or buy them through the summer, or just wait until next year and start cycling in new packs every-so-often?

Is it too early to buy my lipos for this coming season? I'm using Zippy Flightmax 5S packs.

Thanks.
Old 03-05-2010, 03:56 AM
Magne

Default RE: When to buy batteries?

If you are buying "budget priced" batteries, then I think it is best to buy all the sets that you are going to use at the same time, and use them approx. equally much. Because the batteries do deteriorate gradually, no matter how you treat them, it is best to have all sets of equal performance. When they have deteriorated to a level when they are no longer suitable for your application, then it is time to chuck them and buy new ones.
The other way, of buying two sets now, another set a bit later, and a forth set after that again, you will always have batteries of different performance. This performance difference IS VERY NOTICABLE, and does nothing good for practice/competition flying.
If you are coming from glow, then it's a bit like flying one flight with 30% nitro, next flight with 15%, then back to 30, throw in a flight with 0% nitro etc. Not ideal.

Magne
Old 03-05-2010, 08:08 AM
J Lachowski
My Feedback: (46)