Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

New Sebart Wind 50E

Old 05-24-2011, 09:37 AM
  #451  
koakiss
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , , TAIWAN
Posts: 64
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

I got the spinner fitted last week end, and my god the model looks nice, been flying without it for a month now and there is a slight difference in the shade of the yellow, but what surprised me most was the different in drag. When I was flying without the spinner I am using an average of 47 to 49 percent of throttle, now with the spinner on I only need around 44 to 46 percent of throttle, which means a little more flying time and a bit easier to keep a constant speed, would never have seen the difference without the logger. Will mount the wing servo covers on soon, should be able to skim another 1 to 2 percent off. Now flying at 7.5min having 3.75 per cell after landing and putting 3200mah back in after charging. For people who want an easy 8 min go with the 4500mah packs 4000mah packs will be difficult to get to 8 min unless you charge it a bit over say 4.25 per cell. I have been flying on 4.25 on my angel 30e with no problem, just make sure you don’t go over that it might be dangerous.
Old 05-25-2011, 10:59 AM
  #452  
Paps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , SLOVENIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Damn superglue... Got the rudder in, only to find out its 2mm too low... Any safe way to remove the rudder? Im using hinges that came with the plane.

Tho the plane does look really good
Old 05-26-2011, 08:23 AM
  #453  
koakiss
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , , TAIWAN
Posts: 64
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

i believe robbe has a ca glue remover, have a try with that, dont know what it wil do to the cover so take care.
Old 05-26-2011, 08:30 AM
  #454  
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

If it doesnt, you could cut the rudder off and just put in new CA hinges.

Archie
Old 05-26-2011, 08:45 AM
  #455  
Paps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , SLOVENIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: rcpattern

If it doesnt, you could cut the rudder off and just put in new CA hinges.

Archie
Ye thats what i did All good now
Old 05-28-2011, 12:58 AM
  #456  
MD80Driver
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: PretoriaGauteng, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi guys,

I have done 34 flights on my Wind 50S, and I still love it. This is my second plane from I moved on from the normal high wing trainer 40 size. So I teach myself a bit of aerobatics. Just a question, when I roll the aircraft up side down, the aircraft tends to nose dive to the grond and I have composite oposite elevator to keep it level. Is it normal? Or is my CG a bit out? What nice stable aircraft to land. Just cant wait to get my programing link from castle creations, as I said before, there is a dead spot on the throttle just above the half thottle.

Have fun guys.
Regards
M
Old 05-28-2011, 02:58 AM
  #457  
tmark65
 
tmark65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Thessaloniki, GREECE
Posts: 122
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi friend,

I believe you're nose heavy, move your CG a bit back.

As for aerobatics and manouver, you may learn something from these :

It's not F3A but it's an excellent start.

IMAC Basic 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6SwF...A70151AF866C80
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...2011_Basic.pdf

IMAC Sportsman 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSK9zpDDz0Y
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do..._Sportsman.pdf


IMAC Intermediate 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nqr9B...eature=related
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...termediate.pdf
Old 05-28-2011, 04:39 AM
  #458  
MD80Driver
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: PretoriaGauteng, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: tmark65

Hi friend,

I believe you're nose heavy, move your CG a bit back.

As for aerobatics and manouver, you may learn something from these :

It's not F3A but it's an excellent start.

IMAC Basic 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6SwF...A70151AF866C80
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...2011_Basic.pdf

IMAC Sportsman 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSK9zpDDz0Y
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do..._Sportsman.pdf

Hi tmark65

Thank you for links, this will help me alot. Just a bit windy here today, so cant go fly. Will just move the batery a little back.
Will give some feed back when I have change to fly.
Have you maiden your aircraft yet?

Regards,
Morne


IMAC Intermediate 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nqr9B...eature=related
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...termediate.pdf
Old 05-28-2011, 05:19 AM
  #459  
tmark65
 
tmark65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Thessaloniki, GREECE
Posts: 122
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: MD80Driver


ORIGINAL: tmark65

Hi friend,

I believe you're nose heavy, move your CG a bit back.

As for aerobatics and manouver, you may learn something from these :

It's not F3A but it's an excellent start.

IMAC Basic 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6SwF...A70151AF866C80
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...2011_Basic.pdf

IMAC Sportsman 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSK9zpDDz0Y
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do..._Sportsman.pdf

Hi tmark65

Thank you for links, this will help me alot. Just a bit windy here today, so cant go fly. Will just move the batery a little back.
Will give some feed back when I have change to fly.
Have you maiden your aircraft yet?

Regards,
Morne


IMAC Intermediate 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nqr9B...eature=related
http://www.mini-iac.com/Portals/0/Do...termediate.pdf
Morne, unfortunately NO

It's raining today and can't go fly !!!!
Old 05-28-2011, 07:32 AM
  #460  
desertrider49
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: MD80Driver

Hi guys,

when I roll the aircraft up side down, the aircraft tends to nose dive to the grond and I have composite oposite elevator to keep it level. Is it normal? Or is my CG a bit out?

Mine does the same thing, and I have moved my cg back so far it was very unstable to fly. I'm thinking it's just another (of the several) problems with the plane.
Old 05-28-2011, 08:10 AM
  #461  
Paps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , SLOVENIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

YOu know those covers that you put on landing gear. One of them is off, just doesent fit. Will have to cut it abit ...
Old 05-28-2011, 02:33 PM
  #462  
desertrider49
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: Paps

YOu know those covers that you put on landing gear. One of them is off, just doesent fit. Will have to cut it abit ...

Mine too, I didn't put mine on.
Old 06-06-2011, 12:40 PM
  #463  
stmdk
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

i did some minor changes to my Wind, im also using the HK plane suit, it fits very well except the landing gear area, but ts a real minor issue to fix.
i also did my first F3A competition and took the 3rd place very nice plane
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	bz78745.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	2.53 MB
ID:	1619821   Click image for larger version

Name:	mh21403.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	2.31 MB
ID:	1619822   Click image for larger version

Name:	gl19561.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	1.91 MB
ID:	1619823   Click image for larger version

Name:	hb80802.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	2.10 MB
ID:	1619824   Click image for larger version

Name:	jv14737.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	2.58 MB
ID:	1619825   Click image for larger version

Name:	fw27150.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	3.70 MB
ID:	1619826   Click image for larger version

Name:	fd91683.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	466.6 KB
ID:	1619827  
Old 06-06-2011, 01:03 PM
  #464  
tmark65
 
tmark65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Thessaloniki, GREECE
Posts: 122
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Really nice pics and good mod's !!!!

Where did you buy the hatch lock ?

Here's mine !
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67263.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	1619848   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty64927.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	1619849  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:20 PM
  #465  
bem
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi,

So the canopy on Wind S50E is not held in place by hooks in front and magnets in back? I have a smaller Sebart Angel S30E and the canopy is held in place that way and it has worked great for hundreds and hundreds of flights.

/Bo
Old 06-06-2011, 02:39 PM
  #466  
tmark65
 
tmark65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Thessaloniki, GREECE
Posts: 122
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

NO, it has a "slider" in front and two hex srews at the base of the aft side of canopy !
Old 06-07-2011, 01:09 AM
  #467  
stmdk
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: tmark65

NO, it has a ''slider'' in front and two hex srews at the base of the aft side of canopy !
hi tmark, i bought it from HK and belive me its worth the rework, it was a nightmare to bolt and unbolt those hex screw each time
Old 06-13-2011, 07:33 PM
  #468  
desertrider49
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

What's everybody doing for CG. The suggested 205mm translates to 8.05 inches, which is at the wing tube. I used some string and hung the plane from the tubes and moved the batteries until it was a tiny bit nose heavy. Anyone have any helpful suggestions or experience they can relate for me ?

Thanks
Old 06-14-2011, 03:16 AM
  #469  
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

I'm flying mine about 3/8" in front of the tube. That basically correlates to where I have the CG on my big ones and I really prefer the feel there,

Arch
Old 06-14-2011, 09:07 AM
  #470  
koakiss
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , , TAIWAN
Posts: 64
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

do you need to have elevator down in inverted and a little elevator down during a down line?
Old 06-14-2011, 09:13 AM
  #471  
stevemangum
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Thought I would post my setup in case anyone wants to go 8s. I went this way because it is so hot in Florida that I try to keep the current draw down as much as possible.

I am running the Scorpion 4025-16, 16x12 Xoar prop, ICE 100A ESC, and 2 - 4S4000mah Nanotech 25-50C batteries.

My plane RTF minus the battery pack is 2443g and the pack is 850g. I do have the pack almost back to the wing tube to get the CG on the center of the tube which is where I fly. So, I am about 4oz heavier than most of the setups I have seen but I really like this setup, everything comes down warm, not hot. It draws about 65A at full throttle, so I see peaks around 1850W. This plane has incredible power and the vertical is just ridiculous. I could probably drop down to a 16x10 and not need to manage the throttle as much. I wouldn't be surprised if you could drop down to 8s 3600 packs and go with a 16x10 and have a plane right at seven pounds.

Also, I only have two sets of batteries and have been charging at the field at 10A, since I only pull between 2800 and 3000 mah out of the pack, it is ready to go again in less than 20 minutes. I am able to fly as much as I want with just two sets of packs and I have been running this setup since September 2010 and have noticed no decrease in performance and no puffy packs.

Can't say enough good things about this plane.

Steve
Old 06-14-2011, 09:56 AM
  #472  
koakiss
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , , TAIWAN
Posts: 64
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

i agree got to love those nano-tech.
Old 06-14-2011, 04:47 PM
  #473  
desertrider49
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: koakiss

do you need to have elevator down in inverted and a little elevator down during a down line?
I have to admit that my math was in error the first time I converted to the measuring system I use (inches). Yes, I had to use a lot of down while inverted and it made my 2 point roll difficult (roll, neutral, down, neutral, roll), I flew two flights today and I only need a touch of down while inverted and on the down line, the way I like it. I'll work on my 2 point roll tomorrow and see how much the proper CG helped. With any luck at all I'll start getting 8's and 9's on my rolls (my weakest score).

Thanks Guys,
Randy
Old 06-16-2011, 11:36 PM
  #474  
Paps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , SLOVENIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

I maidend mine Had to wait 3h for wind to stop blowing. It was quite gusty. Was abit nose heavy, so ill have to move the battery further back.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GULbWYFP2RE[/youtube]

Old 06-17-2011, 03:16 AM
  #475  
john agnew
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: glasgowScotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,081
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Steve

Delighted to hear that setup is working well. I have just ordered a new Wind 110, my first one was on 6S and flew okay but a bit lacking in power on windy days. I had planned on 8 or 10S for my new one as I have both packs. I finally decided on 8S and the Scorp 4025-16 with a 17x10 prop which will pull around 72 amps max and 2100watts which I calculated would be plenty as my 6S setup had around 1600watts.

John

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.