Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

New Sebart Wind 50E

Old 03-24-2013, 06:39 AM
  #551  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Järvenpää, FINLAND
Posts: 96
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

The ESC brake and BEC functions do not have any direct relationship so ideally using the brake doesn't affect the BEC output in any way.

There's an indirect relationship though: If using the brake heats the ESC up a lot, the BEC circuits will heat up as well and it's output power may drop as a result. That said, if you monitor the ESC temperature and it doesn't become hot, there shouldn't be any problems with the BEC function either.
Old 03-24-2013, 12:23 PM
  #552  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: RC_Fred

<p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>Thank you both for sharing this information, appreciate your feedback.

1. why do you think that when you use the brake you can risk a voltage droping?
As far as I understand you put more load on the ESC when you enable the brake function. Just wondered if the BEC's output voltage would remain stable while the ESC is braking.<br style=''mso-special-character: line-break''/><br style=''mso-special-character: line-break''/>

</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>A possible voltage drop is just an assumption, therefore I would like to hear your experience.

Using a 17x10 prop by the way.

</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>

</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>

</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>
2. as for my setup, i use a separate Rx bat and using around 40% brake..
</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>

</p></span></p><p class=''MsoNormal'' style=''MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt''><span style=''FONT-FAMILY: ''Microsoft Sans Serif''; FONT-SIZE: 10pt''>OK. Do you have a specific reason for using a separate RX pack on your Wind S50e?

As far as I can see you can do without when using the ICE 100. Just curious...

</p></span></p>
1. with the Wind50 i fly with a 16x12 but i recentley ordered a 17x10 as you, it will draw more Amp but i need that 2500W output so i guess you are using the right prop.
2. as for the Tx bat there are some points you should consider:
a. somtiems you can pull more Amp than your BEC can deliver
b. my firend didt tied hard his main cells pack and when he was in an inverted fly the lipos just gone through the canopy to mother earth, because he was using a separate Tx bat he could control his plane (no motor)
but without losing it...

BTW, now im flying with the reall thing an OSMOSE 2x2M and i have to admit its another world

cheers
Old 03-25-2013, 12:58 AM
  #553  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Utrecht, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

<span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><![if gte mso 9]></span></span><xml><w:worddocument></w:worddocument><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">Thanks for pointing that out Finnspeed, it&rsquo;s clear to me now.
</span><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">Will make sure to put an extra battery strap around the main lipo so it doesn&rsquo;t bail out </span><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans=""></span></span></span></xml><p class="MsoNormal"><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">Ordered my Wind S50e over the weekend, the yellow version. Should be delivered later this week.</span></span></span></p><p class="MsoNormal"><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">Set up will be as follows:</span>

Turnigy G60 Brushless Outrunner 400kv
<span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">APC 17x10E prop
Castle Creations ICE 100 ESC
</span>Turnigy 6S4000mAh 30C Lipo Pack
<span microsoft="" sans="">Futaba 617FS</span><span class="st"><b style="mso-bidi-font-weight:normal"><i style="mso-bidi-font-style:normal"><span microsoft="" sans=""> </span>[/i][/b]</span><span class="st"><span microsoft="" sans="">2.4ghzFasst Receiver</span></span>
<span class="st"><span microsoft="" sans="">1x Futaba S9202 (Rudder)</span></span>
<span class="st"><span microsoft="" sans="">4 x Turnigy TGY-390V MG for both ailerons and elevator


</span><span microsoft="" sans=""> </span></span></span></span></p><p class="MsoNormal"><span style="font-size: medium;"><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans=""><a href="http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__23468__TGY_390V_HV_Metal_gear_Coreless_Digital_S ervo_w_Heat_Sink_5_4kg_11sec_22_5g.html"><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;">http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...sec_22_5g.html
</span></span></a></span></span><span style="font-family: Arial;"><p class="MsoNormal"><span lang="EN-GB" microsoft="" sans="">There&rsquo;s quite a difference between the reviews of these Turnigy servos but I will give them a try, we&rsquo;ll see&hellip;</span></p><![if gte mso 9]></span></p><xml><w:latentstyles deflockedstate="false" latentstylecount="156"></w:latentstyles></xml><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><![endif]><![if gte mso 10]></span></span><style type="text/css"></style><span style="font-size: small;"><span style="font-family: Arial;"><![endif]></span></span>
Old 03-31-2013, 11:25 AM
  #554  
bem
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi,

Mounted skiis on my Wind S 50E and flew today on a lake - still alot of snow here. Fantastic flying day today - sunshine, no wind at all, warm and comfortable in the sun.
The skiis is Du-Bro plastic skiis but the tailskii (stearable) I have made myself. The skiis have no negative effect on flying as I can notice.
It was a lot of other people out on the lake today also, people walking, dogs, golfers (yes You read right) and people curious about my plane and asked a lot of questions - all that came near said "how quite it is" and I replied "it is electric motor in the plane". Many people are really interested to see the planes flying and ask many questions when they come near. You never know who might be interested and perhaps start flying later.
I flew alot today, about 7 hours with just short brake to eat and to carry more12 volt marine batteriesfrom the car to lake so I could charge more. I consumed 3 marine batteries for a total 240 Ah and I lost track of how many flights I made but I think over 20.
Flew some complete N-13 (Nordic) schedules and after some rehearsalI remembered the hole schedule and made about 5 whole schedules. Rest was just fun flying (breaking in 3 new 6 cell 45C 5000 mAh Gens ace batteries). A friend of mine showed up also with his small foam plane and he flew the 4 batteries he had withhim.
Sun really shined today and I feel a little sunburned in my face now.

/Bo


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo41039.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	1868722   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj28152.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	81.6 KB
ID:	1868723   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb76310.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	1868724   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bv59558.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	1868725   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sd44498.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	1868726   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xo89244.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	1868727   Click image for larger version

Name:	Df72632.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	1868728   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rq55470.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	1868729  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ed61062.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	1868730   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zl60868.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	1868731   Click image for larger version

Name:	Io64354.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	1868732  
Old 04-01-2013, 12:54 AM
  #555  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi Bem

Thanks for posting those shots, looks like you had a great day in the snow and sun. It's cold and grey over here in England today.....some time to go before I get to maiden my Wind 50S I think. I have fitted larger wheels already to cope with what will likely to be a very rough runway at the club this Spring.
Old 04-01-2013, 12:22 PM
  #556  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KIEV, UKRAINE
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: stmdk

a. somtiems you can pull more Amp than your BEC can deliver
<div>Gentlemen,</div><div>I&rsquo;m new in this topic. Let me add a couple words.</div><div>I use the redundant power supply for Rx and servo in my WindS 50E:</div><div><span> source A: approx 5.5V from built-in BEC (ESC Turnigy Plush 80A);</span></div><div><span> source B: 6.0V from additional external SBEC.</span></div><div>Both sources are mixed by twin Schottky diode. So I have approx 5.8V during normal flights and 5.3V at peak moments.</div><div>Of cause it&rsquo;s not a full redundancy &ndash; the same 6s battery for both sources. So battery&rsquo;s health is vital.
Proven with 300+ flights.

Cheers</div>
Old 03-19-2014, 09:42 AM
  #557  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY,
Posts: 53
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just joined the "Club" purchasing a used (yellow) one flown only a couple of times - putting it together last nite I noticed the wing lock-down bolts were missing ...

... does anyone know what size they are ? nothing in my junk bin seemed to fit. Also, were they plastic or metal ?

Thanks - can't wait to get it in the air
Old 03-20-2014, 01:11 AM
  #558  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Alan W
I just joined the "Club" purchasing a used (yellow) one flown only a couple of times - putting it together last nite I noticed the wing lock-down bolts were missing ...

... does anyone know what size they are ? nothing in my junk bin seemed to fit. Also, were they plastic or metal ?

Thanks - can't wait to get it in the air
if im not mistaken its:

[TABLE="width: 565"]
[TR]
[TD="width: 549"][h=1]Socket Head Bolt 4x30mm (10 pack)[/h]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...0_pack_b_.html
Old 03-20-2014, 03:06 AM
  #559  
ltc
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,448
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

You can also use Secraft wing bolts; a bit easier to install/remove by hand
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=746
http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=815
Old 03-20-2014, 08:23 AM
  #560  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY,
Posts: 53
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks to both of you .. hoping to (re)maiden it this weekend !
Old 06-18-2014, 09:37 AM
  #561  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY,
Posts: 53
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

anyone know what size spinner the Wind50 uses ? I broke the tang off the backplate and need to order a new one but forgot to measure ... DOH !!
Old 07-03-2014, 10:52 PM
  #562  
My Feedback: (11)
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 3,224
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I believe its 58MM. I looking for a carbon spinner to put on my recently ordered Wind. No luck finding one yet though...
Old 07-06-2014, 07:22 AM
  #563  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Alan W
anyone know what size spinner the Wind50 uses ? I broke the tang off the backplate and need to order a new one but forgot to measure ... DOH !!
actually its a 57 mm . HK has one with an aluminium back plate.
i bought this one:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Search=57%20mm

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.