RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Pattern Aircraft (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-pattern-aircraft-385/)
-   -   Help me choose some F3A lipo packs (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-pattern-aircraft-385/9154075-help-me-choose-some-f3a-lipo-packs.html)

schroedm 10-07-2009 12:44 PM

Help me choose some F3A lipo packs

Guys,

I'm new to the whole electric pattern scene so any help gratefully received.

As you may have seen I've bought the sebart wind s pro and pletty evo 30-10 and hacker 99 F3A esc.

I'm looking at packs now. As I have 4 lipo chargers that can charge up to 5s I want to use 2 x 5s packs to create the required 10s pack. I was looking at the flightpower 4350 5s eon-x packs but they cost approx $250 each so $500 per flight set.

Chatting to Jeff Boyd earlier, he made me aware of Turnigy packs. 5000 5s 25C for only $75!! I accept they may not be as great as the flightpower packs but the massive price difference allows me to accept that.

I then found turnighy 5000 5s 20c for a paltry $49!! 20c x 5000 is 100A continuous and if my esc is only rated to 99A am I wasting more money going for the 25c packs. As I see it I have have 5 flight packs for the price if one Flightpower setup?

Does does my idea and this massive money saving fall over!?!

I'm listening :-)

ExFokkerFlyer 10-07-2009 01:03 PM

RE: Help me choose some F3A lipo packs

I'd stay away from the Flightpowers... if you can afford that range of pack, Thunderpower 5300s have much better characteristics and will last a long time. Guys on this side of the pond are able to get well over a hundred cycles of quality contest worthy flights without much degradation. Also consider Hyperion G3 packs... cheaper, a little heavier, but even better internal resistances and they just stay low... not sure how long they will last, but it looks like they might even outlast the TP.