Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

My first helicopter, choice help.

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

My first helicopter, choice help.

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 11:57 PM
scoops

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first helicopter, choice help.

I've been reading the forums and reviews, and so far I'm looking at either getting the Hurricane 550 or the Esky Belt CP.

I don't know anyone who flies helis so I'd be on my own and completley self taught (probably mostly on a sim) so I was considering getting the Hurricane 550 because I hear it's more stable.

The problem is that, yes the Belt CP is cheaper, so it's less pain in my wallet, but if I crash it I'll probably be demoralized and lose my interest in the hobby, or probably never end up upgrading to the 550. It's for that reason that I'm considering going straight to the 550, and just taking it really slowly, often using a sim, and starting out only hovering a foot or two off the ground for the first few days/weeks.

So here are my questions:

In your opinion should I start big or small?

Depending on the size, if not the Belt CP, or the 550, which helicopter would you recommend and why? (Stability with the option of 3D in the future, over full 3D capability)

What's the best way to self teach helicopter flying?

What sim would you suggest?

Where would you suggest buying the helicopter for a Canadian shopper?

How difficult are helicopters to repair/maintain?

Any other beginners advice or something I should know about the hobby/helicopters?

Sorry for asking so many questions, and thanks in advance for any and all help!
Old 06-24-2008, 12:34 AM
Druss

Default RE: My first helicopter, choice help.

Hey Skoops,

Welcome to the greatest hobby on earth....