Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

Trex 500 or Gaui 550

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Trex 500 or Gaui 550

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2008, 01:46 AM
jerrymac
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trex 500 or Gaui 550

Well guys, this is my first year in the hobby and as I said before, it is very addicting. My first heli was a BH450 that I was learning to fly till the snow started fly here, so only flying now is on the sim. Since my eyesight ain't real good I sometimes have a little trouble seeing my heli when I get it far away so I was thinking about getting something bigger to build over the winter. I recently posted a thread asking for advice on a radio and most of the replies pointed me to the Dx7 so that will probably be my choice. I was looking at a Trex 500 as my next heli, but saw the Gaui 550 on Ka-planes and seemed like a good deal at $319 for the kit, and it is bigger than the Trex 500 . Now I have some jingle in my pocket but can't decide what to get. Is the Gaui 550 a well built heli? Metal upgrades for it seem to cost more than the heli if I want to upgrade it later. I do like the bigger size of the 550, since I don't really want to go as big as a Trex 600 in electric. ( Maybe in a nitro someday ). The quality of the Align brand seems to be pretty well known, but I don't here too much about the Gaui 550. I was hoping that some of you could share your opinions on this to help me decide. Ka-planes is having a sale over the weekend so it looks like it might be a good time to buy if I knew what I wanted. Your thoughts are always greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jerry..

Old 11-27-2008, 02:20 AM
Edwinssiv

Default RE: Trex 500 or Gaui 550