Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Habu first EDF

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2010, 02:53 PM
subcaptian

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Habu first EDF

Hey guys, I've been flying the Hobbico Nexstar EP Select since the beginning of the year, and have gotten pretty good at flying, or so the guys at the club say. I was looking at getting an EDF, and I saw that the Habu can be flown at pretty slow speeds, relativily. Does the Habu make a good first EDF?

Thanks,
Subcaptian
Old 11-10-2010, 08:25 AM
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Habu first EDF

Yes.

ENT
Old 11-14-2010, 01:50 AM
phillipmorris

I'm still new to EDF and yes the Habu is a beauty, mine however didn't survie an overhead pass, and it zoomed down to oblivian. However it did fly for several minutes and showed nice handling, was very breezy that day and also part of my maiden issue. Mine needs besides a new battery another fuselage and might pull it off.

Another possibility is the Skyray if your after something that flys abit slower and also great handling, much cheaper bird at around $80 at Hobby King. Its far from a zoomer but nice looks with the Delta Shape and mine is still alive ! It also has wheels for easy take off without the hand toss delema, will need extra room to reach airspeed but otherwise a nice entry.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9362

It handles great even with a simple DX5 Spektrum Transmitther and easy control at low throw, hope to have my own flight video later, but did place a short clip showing elevon movment, I like this one as an entry ducted jet !

The COG was on the money with a 1300 Lipo and used the Spektrum AR500 receiver

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWC4k6G8g5o