Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
RC Lander 90mm 12-blade unit not performing as expected - Help!!! >

RC Lander 90mm 12-blade unit not performing as expected - Help!!!

Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

RC Lander 90mm 12-blade unit not performing as expected - Help!!!

Old 08-21-2013, 05:01 PM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Lander 90mm 12-blade unit not performing as expected - Help!!!

I'm relatively new to larger High power EDF setups, all of my experience to date has been with 70mm 1000 watt or less setups and they always worked as expected.

I just acquired an RClander 1000kv 90MM 8s-10s setup specs below

8S version (LEDFDPS/MBS90-1A10)
Rotor size..........90mm
Motor...............B4074 /1000kv
Power...............8S / 29.6V
Max RPM...........37,000
Max Watt..........2,800W
Cont.Watt.........2,550W
Amps................82A (up to)
Thrust..............3.6kg (up to)

I have the unit in a Freewing Eurofighter using a Castle Ice2 HV 80 on 8 cells.

I've flown it 4 times and it just wasn't performing as expected. As a matter of fact, I've seen videos on youtube of the same plane flying the stock setup which seemed to have more punch.

So, I've picked up an eflite watt/amp meter and tested the power output. Heres what I am getting.

2x 4-cell Nano-Tech 5000mah (series) 25 - 50C
Max Amps - 64
Max Watts 1720

Nowhere near the 82A 2200+ watts I should be getting.

Now I'm looking to get suggestions as to possible reasons why.

Heres a few things I've considered

1. Batteries - The batteries are not new. Possibly they are not perfoming. Is the C rating to low for this setup? I have some 65c nanotechs on order.