Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Recommended Power Set up for F-4 Phantom

Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Recommended Power Set up for F-4 Phantom

Old 04-18-2014, 10:37 AM
kylelord
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Recommended Power Set up for F-4 Phantom

Hello Everyone,
I've been thinking about building a F-4 Phantom from some plans I've come across. I'm new to ducted fan and have some smaller electric experience from 450 sized helis. I'd like to gather as much information as I can before jumping into this project.
The specs for the plans are:
46" wingspan
63" fuse
12-16 lbs.
From what I've seen something in the 110mm range would be close with a 160 amp esc and 10s-12s setup. I got this from a Jethanger f-4 build.
I don't want flat out speed but I want enough oomph to get off a grass runway.
I understand that this isn't an inexpensive project but I'm still somewhat on a budget. I'm willing to scrimp and save for the right setup. I realize buying a cheap fan from hobbyking, throwing a blade then buying the correct one is even more expensive. I know that batteries and speed controllers are pricey too and I'd like to get the right setup the first time.
Thank you very much for any help,
Kyle
Old 04-18-2014, 02:23 PM
Extreme_RC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts