Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

How much thrust for a grass field takeoff?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

How much thrust for a grass field takeoff?

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2018, 03:05 PM
Scratchie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How much thrust for a grass field takeoff?

I will be building my first electric aircraft ever, and my first jet ever (I have lots of building experience, construction isn't a problem). After looking at my options, It seems that the Ziroli Turbinator E-90mm (50" ws - Ziroli Turbinator E-90mm - $119.00 : Laser Design Services) may be the best choice.

If I had any electric/jet experience at all, I'd prefer to build the RC Custom Jets L-39 Albatros 1:6.5 (http://www.therccustomjets.cz/en/mod...-construction). But since they come with no plans and build threads are few, I think that the Ziroli may be the way to go for the first electric/jet build.

Anyway, I'd appreciate suggestions for EDF/battery setups that would be suitable for Grass Fields. I know only glow prop planes, and have a good idea of how these planes will perform before I build one. But with an electric jet I have no idea what to expect... I appreciate your thoughts and suggestions, thanks.
Old 04-22-2018, 12:16 AM
Joseph Frost

Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

Very simple answer to your question, "the more the better", but it all depends on how heavy you built it.
Old 04-23-2018, 09:38 AM
Scratchie

RTF weight will be 5 - 6 pounds.
Old 04-23-2018, 05:40 PM
Joseph Frost

Mate, as a first EDF jet I would suggest to go for one of the ARF foamies, there is so much to choose from in any size. Lot better choice for the grass fields than some balsa sticks build one.
Old 04-25-2018, 01:59 AM
Extreme_RC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Scratchie