Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Gap at blades and housing???

Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Gap at blades and housing???

Old 11-13-2020, 08:29 AM
  #1  
Velocity_st
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puebla, MEXICO
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gap at blades and housing???

Hello

I am new to EDF Jets but have a very big question
All this is because I fly at 7000 ft

So I got the Avanty S from free wing I noticed a big gap between blades and the housing so what would happened if I reduce that gap??

Thanks to you help and answers
Old 11-13-2020, 04:23 PM
  #2  
Joseph Frost
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 656
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

The bigger the gap the less efficient. How do you intend to reduce the gap? Larger diameter of rotor is the best option.
Old 11-14-2020, 10:31 AM
  #3  
Velocity_st
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puebla, MEXICO
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yes But i dont have a way to make new rotor so i was planing on using tin foil tape in the housing to get a better adjustment
Old 11-14-2020, 03:39 PM
  #4  
Joseph Frost
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 656
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

That's what I thought you might do, just make sure it will not come off as you need quit a few layers to fill the gap. I also did the same with few 70mm units in the past while experimenting, but found cutting slightly down different rotors was a more efficient way.
Old 11-17-2020, 09:47 AM
  #5  
Velocity_st
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puebla, MEXICO
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I will look on that option
Just need to figure out the angles so that i dont change them too much
Old 11-17-2020, 05:15 PM
  #6  
Joseph Frost
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 656
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

You can buy all sorts of rotors from various suppliers like H/King ect. Lathe comes handy to cut them down.



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.