Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

'Am I ready for a jet?' & other questions you've heard too many times...

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

'Am I ready for a jet?' & other questions you've heard too many times...

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 09:40 AM
deli_conker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 'Am I ready for a jet?' & other questions you've heard too many times...

Let me start with the disclaimer that I am self taught and hold a degree from the school of hard knocks...

I started with a 2 channel Firebird several years ago. It found a tree one day and never flew again. I didn't replace it, but one day my interest in RC was sparked once again. Boy oh boy, that 4 channel Art-Tech Cessna I got off ebay looked real good until I found the ground with it during it's maiden flight. Later that afternoon, I had a GWS Slo-Stick up in the air. Very relaxing. I must admit that it felt good to not wreck. I flew this for a few months and then decided that it was time to get something more risque. I went to the lhs and picked up a GWS DHC2-Beaver. It flew like the Slo-Stick. Too much like the Slo-Stick...

So I bought a brushless setup (hacker motor, somewhere around 6,000kv on a 3s 1320 thunder power). I slapped that sucker into the existing gearbox and reinforced the wings with packing tape (fiberglass strands). The next morning I took it the park and had a big smile the whole time. That's more like it. It was like having a Ferrari engine in a Toyota Corolla. That thing was one of my favorite planes (R.I.P.). No, I didn't wreck it. Not even a single questionable landing. I had the plane down from it's shelf and turned my back on my two year old in seconds the plane was no more. So I cried tears of joy as this gave me an excuse to get a new plane.