Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

First Flight will be Tonight with SLO V .. Tips Needed

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

First Flight will be Tonight with SLO V .. Tips Needed

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2005, 07:42 AM
nitrojunk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Flight will be Tonight with SLO V .. Tips Needed

Hey guys, Newbie here and tonight will be the first time I will be flying a RC plane. As stated in the Subject, I will be trying to fly a Park ZOne Slo V.

What tips do you guys have for a newbie.. ? Thanks
Old 06-09-2005, 07:50 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: First Flight will be Tonight wityh SLO V .. Tips Needed

First and most important: The elevator is not the magic up stick. Airplanes need forward speed and power to fly. A common mistake that newbies make is to yank full back on the elevator to make the plane go up. It generally has the opposite effect, slowing the plane down and making it sink, stall, and/or crash. Magic up stick only works on a plane with enough power to haul itself straight up, and the SloV doesn't have that.

Take a buddy to launch the plane, and have him "run-launch" instead of "spear-chuck." Running with the plane the first time or two allows the launcher to feel if the plane wants to fly, and abort if it doesn't. Launch straight ahead, not up.

Go with lots of open area, and absolutely no wind.