Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Prop size for brushless setup

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Prop size for brushless setup

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2007, 05:43 AM
CaseySP

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop size for brushless setup

I'm very new to electric flight - but have been flying i/c models for nearly 20 years now.

I bought a (exact) copy of a GWS Formosa that came ready built with a GWS brushed motor, brushed ESC, 650mA 9.6v NMHi battery and GWS servos/receiver and a cheap 4ch 27MHz TX. I'm ditching the receiver and TX to allow me to use my 36MHz JR set up (I intend to fly miles from my regular field at a reserve accross the road).

After hearing about the "gentle" performance of the Formosa with the std powerplant and short running time, I went to town and bought a 1800 3 cell LiPoly pack, automatic charger, new (brushless) 30A ESC and an outrunner brushless motor. The only problem was I got the wrong motor (probably much bigger then needed [sm=angel_smile.gif]) and it's slightly too big in diameter to fit the GWS stick mount gearbox.

The motor's specs are: 850rpm/v; 11.1v; current 9.2A; pull(?)550; rpm 5600; G/A(?) 59; Max output power 150W. Note - the specs with a question mark mean I have no idea what it means - can anyone enlighten me?

Anyway I was thinking of making a mount for the motor and use a "direct drive" (ie no gearbox). The motor came with nicely turned aluminium prop drivers for either the can or the shaft, so I presume it is meant for direct drive applications. Is this motor suitable for my Formosa in this configuration and if so what size prop should I be using?

Link to the motor is here.
Old 02-09-2007, 08:46 AM
saucerguy
Banned

Default RE: Prop size for brushless setup

Ton's of gobbly gook to filter through, not necessary though.