Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Going Electric

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2008, 11:25 AM
dschmid37

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going Electric

Hello fellow enthusiasts,

Due to noise complaints from neighbors of our club, I've decided to give larger scale electrics a go. I'm not a complete newbie to flying electric, I have 2 Strykers (one brushed, one with the BP21 brushless setup), and also a GWS foam Corsair running the same brushless motor, the BP21 from Balsa Products.
This is the airplane I just ordered with the intent of going electric....

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/123761.asp

Specifications:
Wing Span: 66 Inches
Wing Area: 872 Square Inches
Length: 55 Inches
Weight RTF: 6 - 6.75 Pounds
Functions: Ailerons, Elevator, Rudder and Throttle
Power: .61 - 1.08 2-Stroke or .91 - 1.20 4-stroke
Radio: 4 Channel w/4 Standard Servos

My immediate concern is the motor. From this forum, I've decided to try the Monster Power Brushless motors, and want to know if the 60 size will be enough or should I go with the Monster Power 110? This is not a 3D airframe. I'm just looking for good performance and 10 -15 minute run times. Is there any disadvantage to going bigger besides weight?

Also is 6 LIPO cells going to be enough or should I go 8?
I purchased the MOTO Calc program recently and am still poking around trying to figure it out. It's kind of overwelming with it's 240 different possible setups for this plane! YIKES!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan

www.lapeerwingnuts.com
Old 11-14-2008, 04:47 PM
Glacier Girl
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Going Electric

Dan,
A 60 would be adequet for this bird, it would fly it, but if you want to do anything acrobatic wise, you'd be pushing it.