Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

What motor, esc, and batt to use???

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

What motor, esc, and batt to use???

Old 10-29-2009, 03:50 PM
fourtax69
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What motor, esc, and batt to use???

Hey guys I'm new to the electric world and I had a few questions. I've been flying nitro planes for about 10 years now and I've had a few small foamies but I just bought a large scale Giles 202 and I would like to put an electric setup in it. I found a fewparts and just wanted toseeifI was on the righttrack. The specs are as follows Wing Span 75.9", length 70.4", weight 10.5-11.5 lbs, recommends a 1.08-1.60 glow/40-50cc gas engine. I've looked at a few of the hacker and AXI motors and found the AXI5325/20 swinging a 20X10 prop, or AXI5330/18 with 20X8. I've been looking at the Jeti Advance Pro 90 as my esc, but I have no idea whatBEC to get or even if I need one.Also I'm really confused on battery selection, the 5325 says 8s and the 5330 says 10s but what volts andoutput should I get for a 8-15 minute flight@ 75% rpm. Any help would be awesome, thanks guys....
Old 11-05-2009, 08:05 AM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: What motor, esc, and batt to use???

> EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT ELECTRIC FLIGHT
> http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_7100376/tm.htm

What kind of performance are you looking for? Sport aerobatics? Unlimited pattern? 3D?

If I use the AXI motor selector found here:
http://www.modelmotors.cz/axisetuphobby-lobby/

I put in 190 oz all up and Aerobatic performance I get a 5320/34 recommendation on a 19x10 prop. They suggest a 77 amp or higher ESC using a 10S pack. But the Hobby-Lobby site does not give me much info on the motor so I don't know the specs.