RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   2 channel & low voltage cutoff (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/6233685-2-channel-low-voltage-cutoff.html)

joe_rosevear 08-13-2007 04:36 PM

2 channel & low voltage cutoff

Dear electric flyers,

I'm new to electric, but not new to RC flying. I have a ten-year-old 2 channel radio (Hitec Focus) that I would like to use to try out electric flying. It has BEC circuitry, but I think I need a low voltage cutoff too.

So how can I manage that? I figure I could get 2 or 3 LiPoly cells, a motor and an ESC. And I understand that the ESC will likely have a cutoff function, but...

I wondered if anyone had tried this with a two-channel radio? What will the throttle control of the ESC do with no throttle channel being transmitted to the receiver?

So maybe I can use a regular (brushed) motor, no ESC, and a stand-alone cutoff module. Does that exist?

Thanks in advance. Hope you can help.

-Joe

jdetray 08-13-2007 09:08 PM

RE: 2 channel & low voltage cutoff

Hi Joe -

With a 2-channel system, how will you control the throttle? Without a throttle channel, an ESC can't control a motor.

With a brushed motor, you could wire the motor through a switch directly to the battery, switch it on before flight, then fly at full throttle until the battery is depleted. It would not be a very pleasant way to fly, going full speed all the time. Lipos would be fatally damaged if you did this, but NiMH batteries can tolerate being fully discharged.

There is probably some clever way of arranging the servo linkages to flip a switch that would turn the motor on and off. E.g. -- a momentary application of full left and full up would turn the motor on, and full right and full down would turn the motor off. I seem to recall hearing of such things in the dim past.

My apologies if I have mis-interpreted your query.

- Jeff