Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

glow carb on homelite 25?

Old 02-06-2007, 10:24 PM
  #1  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default glow carb on homelite 25?

hey, im just getting into the final stages of my homelite 25cc conversion. so far i have done some grinding on the transfer ports to allow more flow (not change timing) and ported the crankcase to better match the transfer ports. i also stuffed the case, milled .020 off the case and raised the intake port to compensate for the lost exhaust duration.
I will be running this on GGL and was wondering if a glow carb (OS or Supertigre, dont really care) would work out alright. also, is there a fuel pump i can use so i can put the tank on the CG of the plane?
Old 02-06-2007, 11:28 PM
  #2  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Andrew,
Why would you want to replace a carb the does it all with one that needs to be helped? A glow carb would be a good idea if you were running 100% glow fuel. GGL will allow you to use a great pumper carb without modification. A perry pump for gas may do the job with the glow carb. You may have touchy need settings.

Dave
Old 02-07-2007, 12:13 AM
  #3  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

my engine did not come with a carb, and to buy one new here is expensive ($100) ive looked for used ones, but have found nothing. i figured that if a glow carb and pump are close to what i would normally pay for a walbro, i should try it. the glow carbs also are able to be adjusted more than a standard walbro. i figured that if i was running ggl, the extra flow and range of adjustment would help me get every last ounce of power out of this engine.
Old 02-07-2007, 12:59 AM
  #4  
tkg
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 3,114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

A ST carb ff a 2500,3000,3250 would be OK. You would have to make some sort of intake manifold to make things work right.
A Perry Pump or the Kline Regulator System would let you move the tank a bit.
Old 02-07-2007, 09:45 AM
  #5  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,956
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

I used a sanding drum from my dremel and placed it in drill press and sanded the manifold that came with Homelite 25cc. A real tight fit can be made. Just go slow and check fit often. Capt,n
Old 02-07-2007, 09:26 PM
  #6  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

did you use any type of fastener on the carb? i would hate to have the carb come loose in the air
Old 02-07-2007, 10:23 PM
  #7  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,956
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Silicone rubber will seal and hold it ih there. Clean all oil residue off first. Capt,n
Old 02-08-2007, 01:18 AM
  #8  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

ok. what kind of RPMs and with what type of prop can i expect? how about the throttle response? how does the glow carb "stack up" compared to a walbro?
I would also like to try a carb off a 2300 but am afraid that it will be too big.
sorry for askin all the questions, but i got to know all the facts before i place an order at the LHS.
thanx for your time,
andrew66
Old 02-08-2007, 01:31 AM
  #9  
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,213
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Sorry, but I've got to jump in here and say that I really think you will be happier with a Walbro. One with an 11mm venturi would be the best for your engine. The cost of a new glow carb, and the pump/regulator you are also going to need will be much more than a Walbro carb from one of the suppliers here in the forum, or they can also be found on e-bay. With a little searching, it's not hard to come up with a Walbro for around $20.00.

Personally, I wouldn't think of using anything but a Walbro carb on my engines, and mine are all hopped up and they scream.

AV8TOR
Old 02-08-2007, 01:54 AM
  #10  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

if i cant find a walbro with an 11mm venturi, would it work to drill it out to 11mm (or close to it).
what are some of the model numbers that i should look for?
thx,
andrew66
Old 02-08-2007, 06:02 AM
  #11  
jrjr2u
Senior Member
 
jrjr2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_23...tm.htm#2371019
Old 02-08-2007, 09:33 AM
  #12  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,956
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Andrew66: The Supertiger carb I used on my 25cc Homelite was for testing only on a test stand. I wanted to use strait glow fuel and other mixes like gas/glow. But to make the Supertiger carb work in a airplane, it might be more expesive than getting a regular pump carb like a Walbro. The pump carbs are the most easy to use and set-up for flight. You should be able to find a good used carb at a repair shop...just got to find the right place. Complete engines are thrown away every day...with lots of good parts on them! Capt,n
Old 02-22-2007, 01:16 AM
  #13  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

hey, its me again, so far ive called countless shops, and have gotten nowhere! every time i talk to someone, they just beat around the bush and tell me that they will call me back, and never do. some guys insist on the part# of the trimmer, and i tell them what im using it for and give them a part# for a carb (off the link that was posted) and they still wont help me! ive tried asking for new and used carbs, but i guess my business just isnt valued around here. guess i have to wait for one to come up on ebay....
Old 02-22-2007, 02:16 AM
  #14  
Antique
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Many years ago there was a small Chinese twin engine called a TwinStar..Not a bad design, but really bad castings and workmanship...It used glow fuel..The carb was a small Walbro made for Stihl equipment, but worked well on glow fue...Walbro won't sell the carb, it has to come from Stihl...It would work fine on the 25cc engines, either gas or glow fuel...Send me $20 and your address, I will send it to you...If it doesn't work you can send it back....
Maybe I'll take one apart and take some pictures, it's unique..Opposed twin, piston port with one carb, came with a rope and pulley to start it...
Old 02-22-2007, 11:52 AM
  #15  
remote59
Junior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Harrisburg, IL
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

Andrew go to ebay and type in zama C1Q I bought one they are new ,
put mine on a ryobi 31 but I just checked for you and it fits homelite also.
Old 02-22-2007, 12:08 PM
  #16  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,956
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

RCIGN1: Post a photo of that old chinese Twin called a TwinStar. Was it sold by Indy RC back around 1970? Thanks Capt,n
Old 02-22-2007, 07:12 PM
  #17  
andrew66
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
andrew66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandon, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: glow carb on homelite 25?

what size of venturi does that walbro have?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.