Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > Esky Helicopters
Reload this Page >

Lama V4 vibration - what to check for?

Community
Search
Notices
Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

Lama V4 vibration - what to check for?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 02:27 PM
btm123

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lama V4 vibration - what to check for?

I'm suffering vibration on my esky Lama V4. It was second hand and to be honest I can't remember if it has alway done it or not, but it seems to be getting worse. I'm a complete beginner to all this BTW.

It is most noticable on the tail with an up/down motion (no left right). It is enough to vibrate the heli along a wooden floor at slow enough rotor speed where there would be no lift. I assume this is not normal - certainly my big lama is super smooth.

I had some xtreme blades on it so switched back to new esky basic ones, but that hasn't made a lot of difference - maybe a little but not a lot.

I've tried it very briefly and slowly with blades off and flybar off - no vibration.
Blades on flybar off - still vibration
flybar on, blades off - still vibration

So it doesn't look like duff blades or bent flybar, unless both are slightly out. Seems that if there is any weight on it vibrates.

I've taken the body off and cannot find anything loose. However, I did note there is more flex in the main body (the bit between the two motors) back to front than there is left to right? Though it doesn't look like it is loose, more the flex in the plastic by design.

Is there anything else I should be looking at, or is this just normal on these helis? Seems to fly OK, and the vibrations do lessen at speed, though they are still noticable when flying.

Thanks
Old 07-10-2010, 05:07 PM
pgroom_68

Default RE: Lama V4 vibration - what to check for?

ORIGINAL: btm123