Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

PAW .29 locks up?

Old 06-30-2009, 10:38 AM
J_L_G

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PAW .29 locks up?

I am quite new to diesel operaton. I have a .29 plain bearing PAW with venturi. Yesterday I had it bolted down to my test stand. I reduced compression because the ambient temperature was 94 degrees F. I ran 4 ounces of fuel through it using a clunk tank. The fuel was Davis Diesel fuel. The tank was mounted a little low and as it emptied, the engine sounded like it was getting lean. I opened the needle valve and propped the tank up and that got the engine running a little richer. Then, when it started to lean out again, I pinched off the fuel line stopping the engine. I attempted to turn the propeller and it was stuck. Frozen. I couldn't believe it was locked up when the engine had been running nicely just a minute earlier. I forced the propeller to turn just a little and it felt like metal was scraping on sand in the engine. Rough and scratchy. So I filled the venturi with diesel fuel and carefully rocked the propeller. Very soon, the engine was turning over smoothly and when flipped, the propeller rocked back and forth freely bumping off of the compression.

Anybody know what's going on here? I'm interested in pursuing more diesel projects but I don't want to invest in another diesel engine if this is what happens with them. I've never had this problem of freezing up with a glow engine. I'd appreciate any advice. I'll check back for more info later. John G.
Old 06-30-2009, 11:33 AM
Jim Thomerson

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: PAW .29 locks up?

Take the engine apart and see what is going on. I had a similar happening with a Taipan 2.5. Turned out that the rod was hitting the crankcase and knocking off flecks of aluminum. I didn't follow my own advice and destroyed the engine; big score lines on the piston and cylinder. Ended up giving it to someone in Australia as a parts engine.