RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Everything Diesel (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/everything-diesel-87/)
-   -   Diesel or glow? Is diesel better? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/everything-diesel-87/8401567-diesel-glow-diesel-better.html)

JIMARRINGTON 01-25-2009 10:52 PM

Diesel or glow? Is diesel better?

Just picked up my latest copy of Model Aviation this evening and noticed an article on diesel engines. The article listed several advantages to diesel and sparked my curiosity. I know absolutely nothing about diesels. But I have been searching for an alternative to a problem I have.

I have been flying glow for several years and have acquired several plans for 60 size warbirds and have a TF kit for an FW190. My problem is the rising cost of glow fuel and my aggravation with finicky glow engines. Lately, I have been converting weedeater motors to run on electronic ignition with good success and I like running gas engines. The reliability of the gas engine and the availability of cheap fuel appeals to me and fits my budget. Problem is that there aren't any gas engines small enough to fit the 60 size warbirds that I like to build. True the Zenoah g20 is small and will fit some of the Hanger 9 ARFs. It is a great engine and I have one in a GP Tiger Moth. But it is too large to fit in the cowl of the FW190 and too heavy to fit the 62" ws models I have plans for.

When I read the article the light bulb went off and I thought, Hey maybe I could convert one of my glow engines to run on diesel. I have a ST G90 with a Pitts muffler that would bit perfectly in this model. But would it work and would it be economical? Looks like the fuel is rather high at 30 bucks a gallon and only available from Tower. But how far will that 30 bucks fly? Is there a head out there somewhere for a ST G90? How do you run and tune a diesel engine? And most importantly, is it economical?