Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

stupid speed questions

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

stupid speed questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2004, 02:43 AM
themanimal
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stupid speed questions

ok, so I have been flying sport planes for several years, am steadily building my 3d skills but I kind of realized what I really want to do is go fast. The kind of fast that when you do a low speed pass people say "holly Sh$T" what was that.

SO I'm thinking that a shrike should be my first speed plane because they are cheap and easy to build. Most likely a shrike 10. So which engine should I get for this? I have read posts talking about MVVS 25's, rossi's and some other engines that I honestly have never heard of. I wouold want something pretty hot as I am a solid flyer and I don't always have to fly it full speed.

Now for the really stupid question.. Do you guys break your props off on every landing? It seems that deadstick landing are going to be required for this plane.

Thanks for any tips... I should be ready to hang it all out by the time the weather gets nice again.

cheers,
Brian
Old 03-10-2004, 09:09 AM
SJN

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: stupid speed questions

No, you dont break the props on every landing :-)
Just make sure when you install the prop, that it is horizontal against the compression stroke on the engine.
When the engine quits, the wind should hold the prop in that position.

But it is not 100% reliable.....so buy a few extra props [8D]
Old 03-10-2004, 11:21 AM
themanimal

Ah haaaa, so that's how ya do it. Thanks a bunch!