Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Delta gurus I have a question

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Delta gurus I have a question

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2007, 01:10 AM
AGR413
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Delta gurus I have a question

I like deltas but have always been leery of them, apply to much elevator and you get a high speed stall and or a snap and your headed for earth faster than a thirsty earthworm. So I'm playing with G3.5 tonight and thinking to myself I sure like this plane but the turns are scary and unpredictable. The question is I don't know if this is realistic but the plane on the sim has rudder, so I started playing with rudder and it turned the turns into an easy predictable movement. Does anyone do this, am I just a newcomer to an old trick?
Old 07-23-2007, 01:56 AM
aussiesteve

Default RE: Delta gurus I have a question

I have a Green Models Delta 40 with a Magnum 52 installed.
It has dual rudders that I have set up and it does make turns easier and it more able to recover from a spin (Provided you have height).
The other upside is that I have them set up to work as speed brakes to slow it down a little for landing (Looks kind of cool to see it coming in that way).
Old 07-23-2007, 02:40 AM
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

.....I have the rudders on my Delta Vortex set up as air brakes too.

FBD.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16625.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	728463  
Old 07-23-2007, 07:15 AM
Lomcevak Duck
My Feedback: (14)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I guess I'm abnormal. I've never been able to force my Diamond Dust to stall and spin? It doesn't have rudders, and I've never had any troubles with it turning or behaving badly.
Old 07-23-2007, 07:54 AM
ChuckL