Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

Old 05-26-2008, 04:19 PM
  #1  
Crazy4Flight
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo aka Farce-1

Farce-1 since it is a clone of BalsaUSA's Force 1

I got 1.5 flight on it.

Cause was the firewall failed. pushed in on the left side and put the deltawing into a hard left turn. Crash was off in the deep weeds, wings spar and fuse all took damage....probally will part this one out. I do have a Patroit kit that the retracts will fit

It has an OS .50SX and pitts muffler. SpringAir retracts & dual rudders added. Hitec thin wing servo in the stab for the elevator and elevon programming on the ailerons. I had plenty of elevator and had to dial down the ailerons. CG was 1/4-1/2" forward of the suggest mark and I did add tail weight before first fight.

ARF was $79.95 on the black friday sale. and thats about what it is worth.
canopy fit was good, nice laser cut parts, poor instruction manual.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay76067.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	957388   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22829.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	957389   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95275.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	957390   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57872.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	957391  
Old 05-26-2008, 05:41 PM
  #2  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 20,018
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

Dude, crashing into the deep woods of Michigan is no way to spend your holiday. Sorry to hear about your setback but thanks for the warning. Look at this like you just spent big bucks for dinner at a fancy restaurant, 12 hours later the results are the same as if you went to Jack in the Box.
Old 05-26-2008, 05:54 PM
  #3  
Crazy4Flight
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

And the day before I had a turbine failure!

The gap between the case and starter housing does not belong!

It has been a tough weekend... but next weekend I maiden the Xciter!

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77737.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	957465   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30793.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	957466   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk30741.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	957467  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:08 PM
  #4  
Teedee
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

Sorry to hear about your loss but I too have a Kangaroo currently on the work bench. What was the balance point you used and how did it fly before the firewall failed? I have a OS 55AX and a cut down 11x8 APC pusher on a Bobcat right now but I plan on putting the 55AX on the Kangaroo.
Old 05-28-2008, 07:13 PM
  #5  
Crazy4Flight
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

I had a OX .50SX APC 10x8 pusher.

flew well really did not have it 100% dialed in.

I did a build thread in the ARF forum.
Old 05-29-2008, 05:53 PM
  #6  
CrashPro
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
CrashPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 940
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

I had one too.......had to add a ton of lead in the tail to balance with OS 46FX....bought mine for 79 bucks also.....agreed...thats about all it was worth. It was still nose heavy and only way to keep the nose up when landing was to be about half throttled up.....
Needless to say,...mine went in rather hard too...was fixable but in the trash it went[:'(] At least mine was out in the open desert...didn't have to dig through the woods. I had a flat servo mounted in the stab also.
Old 05-29-2008, 09:13 PM
  #7  
Crazy4Flight
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

All that work into adding retracts and rudders AND ....

I forgot to take a 2 ounce bottle of thin Cya and dunp in inside the fuse and shake well
Old 05-30-2008, 02:43 PM
  #8  
mumblety-peg
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RIP Nitroplanes Kangaroo (Farce-1)

I fell your pain. All it takes is one mistake. I'm still mourning the loss of my Denon. I left out the beeper. Now I can't find it in the six foot tall weeds.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.