RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Extreme Speed Prop Planes (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/extreme-speed-prop-planes-104/)
-   -   Looking for a real FAST plane! (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/extreme-speed-prop-planes-104/9324476-looking-real-fast-plane.html)

BreakingPoint 12-12-2009 12:29 PM

Looking for a real FAST plane!

Well, I've been bit by the speed-bug and I'm looking for a REAL FAST prop driven plane. After doing some reaserch, I looks like the Great Planes Patriot is one of the fastest / non-pylon planes out there, but they no longer make it anymore. I'm looking for suggestions on an alternative to the Patriot. Maybe an F20 Tigershark by Phenoix or Juno?? Anyone have any suggestions on F20 or any other real fast plane. I had also considered a Hangar 9 Sundowner 50...

I'm new to the world of speed, so any suggestions by you experts would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks!

smoknrv4 12-12-2009 12:42 PM

RE: Looking for a real FAST plane!

The f-20 by Juno rc is a nice build for a 50 size plane, heres my build thread, i havn't flown it yet though, but from what I hear it flys beautifully.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_8805451/tm.htm

Ed Smith 12-12-2009 12:57 PM

Well, I've been bit by the speed-bug and I'm looking for a REAL FAST prop driven plane. After doing some reaserch, I looks like the Great Planes Patriot is one of the fastest / non-pylon planes out there,
You say you want to go "Real Fast" then reject one of the fastest types of models out there. The logic escapes me.

Ed s

vertical grimmace 12-12-2009 01:25 PM

Yes, pylon aircraft are fast. It is all about reducing drag. So you need a thin wing to start with. Anything that looks fast just because it has taper or jet like looks will not get you there if it has a thick wing. Case in point, the Lanier Shrike. Yes, it is fast but "piggy" as we say!
Low aspect ratio loses a lot of speed in the turn and has a very thick wing.