Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Ed Kazmirski's Taurus

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2010, 12:16 PM
wizzinbya

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Ed Kazmurski's Taurus

Let me just add, I have been building and restoring full scale aircraft for many years. Yes, the reason that silver pigment was added to the dope was to prevent linen degradation from UV, however, today's Dacron fabrics are no less safe from the effects of UV than the linen used in years past. We still use silver to block the UV and some people often use many coats of silver (sanding between coats) to fill the weave of the fabric and make a more astatically pleasing finish, although there is a weight penalty for doing this. Also, the reason there were so many silver colored biplanes back in the day is because, the FAA only required the fabric to be protected from the UV and anything more than that was up to the builder, and of course money was tight so many opted for no finish coat of color. Sorry to get off topic. :>) John
Old 03-16-2010, 02:49 PM
Free Bird

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yes it is...just trying to peak a little interest. I'll be posting later..after work.

Duane
Well you've got my interest peaked! I was going to pull the trigger on a model today, but decided to wait and see what this is all about.

FB
Old 03-16-2010, 03:04 PM
kingaltair
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: kingaltair

No comment at this time..there will be an official press conference later this afternoon.

Duane
Acutally I don't think the media has been alerted, so I don't think any "press" will be there. A "press release" might be more appropriate.

7-8PM Eastern Daylight Savings time
Old 03-16-2010, 03:09 PM
AndyKunz

Received 34 Likes on 33 Posts

I think he's just pulling our legs. We're still waiting on that other announcement.

Come on, Duane, we gave you way more than 3 minutes this time

Andy