Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

MPlex TwinStar Recommendation

Old 09-02-2003, 09:34 AM
PaulCourt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MPlex TwinStar Recommendation

Guys,

I'm just building up my Multiplex Twin Star and was looking for some suggestions of radio / servo combinations for it... I have the wing servos so I just need to get the internal servos for the Rudder and Elevator and Rx.
Using a Ripmax Speed ctrlr with BEC and I'm in the UK so 35Mhz gear only please...

Many Thanks

Paul
Old 09-05-2003, 05:13 PM
hebertjj

Default MPlex TwinStar Recommendation

Here's the servoes I used: http://www.balsapr.com/catalog/trans...roductId=BP110

I built a battery pack of 8 SCR2400 nicds which works well.

Joel
Old 09-10-2003, 11:25 PM
daveslats

Default RE: MPlex TwinStar Recommendation

Hi Paul,
I've been flying my Twinstar for about 18 months now. Great flyer, but here's a couple of tips so that you will avoid the problems I had.
The wing is not really strong enough to stand loops, as I found out one sunny afternoon last year. All I heard was a CRAAAAACK and then the fuse was simulating a dart and the wing was fluttering to the ground! In a state of shock I picked up all the pieces and a few weeks later summoned up the courage to put it all together again. Unlike humpty dumpty, it went together well, and its first post-crash flight hardly needed any throw adjustments at all.
So, my suggestion is, put some strengthening on the underside of the wing from servo to servo. I used carbon filament and feel confident doing all sorts of acrobatic maneuvers.