Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Do I have to use a Carbon Fiber spare?

Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Do I have to use a Carbon Fiber spare?

Old 12-22-2004, 10:52 PM
  #1  
wesf5
Member
Thread Starter
 
wesf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Burnside, IL
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I have to use a Carbon Fiber spare?

I have designed my own foamy and getting ready to build it. I have seen that all the foamys have a carbon fiber spare in the wings. Can use balsa or lite ply as a substitute for the carbon fiber?
Old 12-23-2004, 07:23 AM
  #2  
woodduck-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do I have to use a Carbon Fiber spare?

The balsa will not be strong enough and the lite ply will be too heavy. Carbon tube is very inexpensive you can buy it at http://www.allerc.com or buy flat carbon spars from http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/Spar.htm


Wood Duck

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.