Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

Old 04-24-2008, 06:46 PM
  #951  
keithn4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mayo, IRELAND
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

HEY GUYS,
Just joined the typhoon club, got one in the post today plus a dx6i.

iv a question about a servo.
ive connected the radio equipment up and all is well except that the rudder servo is not working, everthing else is working fine.
ive tried to plug the rudder servo into the elev slot, this made the servo move on its own while all the others where fine.

any one any ideas?
Old 04-25-2008, 07:59 AM
  #952  
jmir
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Laurinburg, NC
Posts: 1,304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?


ORIGINAL: keithn4

HEY GUYS,
Just joined the typhoon club, got one in the post today plus a dx6i.

iv a question about a servo.
ive connected the radio equipment up and all is well except that the rudder servo is not working, everthing else is working fine.
ive tried to plug the rudder servo into the elev slot, this made the servo move on its own while all the others where fine.

any one any ideas?
Plug the elevator servo to the rudder connection on the receiver and see if moving the rudder control moves the elevator. That would indicate receiver/transmitter are OK.

Make sure the plug to the rudder servo is not reversed. If it is, the servo will not work. If it is not reversed and the above test is OK, then there is something wrong with the servo.

Hope this helps.


Old 05-09-2008, 04:42 PM
  #953  
Hobie
Senior Member
 
Hobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

Well I finally got out for the second time with the TY and had just as much trouble as the first time . Our field still is in bad shape and not open from the flood so I went to the Davenport club which gave us an invite to fly at theirs till ours is open . Well I found out what many others have that the radio that came with the TY 2 is crap . It wasn't the wind that caused my problems my first time out it was the radio . There was only 7mph winds plus this time other pilots were there and they all said it wasn't me jerking the plane around . It acted exactly like it did the first time jerking this way and that with out any stick input . They also thought it was tail heavy . I never even checked the CG to see where it is . Wow ! I don't know what to do now . I ranged tested the ZX 10 and it seemed OK but not while flying . I already sent one TY back because of the radio not working at all so I imagine sending another one back and getting a radio that is good is a waste of time . I tried hooking up my Futaba 6EX TX and Rx to it but the elevator glitches and the throttle didn't work at all . At least my ego isn't as bruised as it was knowing it is the radio and not me . It is sooo disappointing to finally spend the money to take the plunge to brushless and lipos just to have the radio be sh#@ . My last electric 3 years ago was a Space Scooter which flew great with the included radio but I needed more excitement and went to glow . The last couple years I thought it would be nice to have a good more advanced electric for convenience of flying at more places than just the club . The money held me back till now but I thought the TY2 was good deal with the brusheless,lipo and charger . I guess I now have to get a spectrum radio for a couple hundred bucks like many others have just to be able to fly the TY 2 .
Old 05-09-2008, 05:00 PM
  #954  
solar696
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, TX
Posts: 346
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

You already have a good computer radio futaba 6Ex. It is what I use with the original TY, it is coupled with a small GWS R4PII micro RX. no issues at all. My other plane has the same Rx.
If i am not mistaking they use digital servos with the new TY2. That may be an issue?
I would not buy an expensive radio just for that.
Old 05-10-2008, 06:03 AM
  #955  
Hobie
Senior Member
 
Hobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

Thanks solar 696 I will have to see if I can pick one up somewhere . I wonder why the Futaba receiver didn't work with it ? It is for glow planes other than being bigger is it different ? It has been stuck in a drawer quite awhile maybe it isn't any good . The ailerons and rudder worked fine but like I said the elevator kept twitching up and down and the throtle didn't work at all . I guess I could try another Futaba receiver out of a plane that I know works just to see if it works with the TY .
Old 05-15-2008, 01:36 PM
  #956  
mrjerry42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: COEUR D ALENE, ID
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

I want to use the spektrum DX6i /AR6200 in my parkzone typhoon2 3D airplane. Can someone give me tips and program settings for the plane? Would like program settings that will be close to the stock parkzone transmitter settings that come with the plane. Include Hi and LO settings. This will be the first flight with the DX6i and not sure what the correct settings should be for a successful maiden flight. Thanks!
Old 05-15-2008, 10:49 PM
  #957  
outacontrol41
My Feedback: (9)
 
outacontrol41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Girdletree, MD
Posts: 1,873
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

Just got a Typhoon 2 today. I've not flown it yet and this is my first plane using lipo 3 cell batteries. My question is...do I really have to take the batteries out of the fuse everytime I recharge. According to the instructions, you have to take it out, put it in something that's heat retardant and sit there and watch it until the green light comes on. After which, you have to take it off charge or it will catch your vehicle on fire! It's set up for cigarette lighter outlet. no less, so you have to charge it in your vehicle. Any advice on this would be helpful.
By the way...this plane looks like it will be a lot of fun.[8D]
Old 05-16-2008, 08:31 AM
  #958  
Hobie
Senior Member
 
Hobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?


ORIGINAL: outacontrol41

Just got a Typhoon 2 today. I've not flown it yet and this is my first plane using lipo 3 cell batteries. My question is...do I really have to take the batteries out of the fuse everytime I recharge. According to the instructions, you have to take it out, put it in something that's heat retardant and sit there and watch it until the green light comes on. After which, you have to take it off charge or it will catch your vehicle on fire! It's set up for cigarette lighter outlet. no less, so you have to charge it in your vehicle. Any advice on this would be helpful.
By the way...this plane looks like it will be a lot of fun.[8D]
I know that is dumb isn't it charging it inside your car . I got the adapter with the alligator clips and charge it in an old crockpot inside my hobby room with a 12V gel cell . Horizon Hobby has it for $3.99 item # HBZ6513 or radio shack has a more heavy duty one for $8 or $9 dollars . I am so dissapointed that I have not been able to have a decent flight with mine because of radio problems . I hope someone answers my questions . Could you look at your receiver and tell me is the wire on the servo leads next to the words orange or brown ?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23674.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	9.0 KB
ID:	950387  
Old 05-16-2008, 08:57 AM
  #959  
iamman711
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

orange
Old 04-10-2009, 09:22 PM
  #960  
Snoopyxupery
Senior Member
 
Snoopyxupery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: montreal, QC, CANADA
Posts: 157
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MUwUZnLMnQ
Old 04-11-2009, 07:43 AM
  #961  
Hobie
Senior Member
 
Hobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

Nice video Snoop . I am not sure why you posted it on the Typhoon thread that died out almost a year ago but I am glad you did . I read back through some of my posts and it reminded me of what crap that radio is that comes with the Typhoon . I wish I would have tried to to get money back for that radio . Instead I did what many others did and got the Spektrum 6Dxi radio . I flew the TY many times last season till at the end of the season I didn't notice an aileron control horn was broken . I crashed hard enough to destroy the fuselage . It cost me $50 in parts a couple of weeks ago to get it ready to fly again . I can't wait till I get a calm enough day to start flying my TY again . I will follow the #1 rule this year and make sure all control surfaces are working properly before every flight .
Old 04-11-2009, 08:30 AM
  #962  
outacontrol41
My Feedback: (9)
 
outacontrol41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Girdletree, MD
Posts: 1,873
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Typhoon 3D ?

My Typhoon is still around today....never had much problem with the radio, though. My problem is with the gear/gear housing in the nose. The gearwheel strips (loses grip) from the motor shaft with even the slightest ground strike with the prop. Seems almost impossible to get that wheel glued back. keeps breaking again when I do. Frustrating. Back to the hobby shop for another gear wheel![:@][:'(]

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.