Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

My 757 jetliner.

Old 01-06-2003, 04:35 AM
  #1  
blvdbuzzard
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,704
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

I did one of those conversions of the free flight glider of the United Airlines 757. I put two EDF50's on it. I was powering the plane with a 6 cell 800mah nicd pack, control was from Ciruss MXr4 Rx two hs-55 and a 15 amp ESC. After getting it ready for flight it weighted in at 16 Oz on the nose. It was heavyer then I wanted.

First flight was not too bad. It flew for about 20 seconds until it landed in a bush. It was way out of trim so I adjusted the linkage and topped off the battery.

Second flight was longer but ended the same way and this time I ripped off both fans.

Repaired the fans, changed ESC's to a lighter 10 amp one and switched to a 8 cell 720 nimh pack. This setup seemed to be 1/2 once lighter with more power to the fans.

Third flight was really good. I threw it and it just zoooooooommmmmmedd off and away. I started to gain altitiude. I was suprised that it turned like a fighter. After about 5 minutes of flying I was thinking about landing when one of the impellers flew off and I had only one fan turning. I shut the throttle down and tried to get it back on the runway. No go. I slammed it into the ground and tore the fans off again.

I just need to get a new fan impeller and I will be up in the air again. It was a lot of fun trying to get this thing built.

Dru.
Old 01-10-2003, 05:07 AM
  #2  
allen555-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: FOREST MS USA
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

i have a 727 plane made from one of hthe 757 american airliner
my 727 is paint in delta airliner panit .i am a member of ezone
there is a guy name hawker i have a cool 727 plane and a dash8
and build a 757 and shorter airbus or 737 plane check it out

www.ezonemag.com


hope to see you there
Old 01-11-2003, 11:43 PM
  #3  
blvdbuzzard
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,704
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

All of the conversions of this plane on the Ezone is why I tried it. I have read the long threads about your 727 and the problems you have had with how pitch sensitive it is. I was thinking about doing a DC-9 super 80. It has a longer nose and tail then the short 727-200. This is the first time I have played with micro electric stuff.

Dru.
Old 01-21-2003, 06:34 PM
  #4  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help

Hello all, I saw the 757 glider in stores a couple of months ago but now I cannot find one in the stores or online. If anyone could help me locate a chain of stores or a website please let me know. I am very intersted in this project.

Thanks

Michael
Old 01-21-2003, 10:21 PM
  #5  
contempo
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Styrojet!

check out www.styrojet.com
If you only want the glider, no mods or instructions I can sell them for $5.00 plus shipping. I think that Life-Like Products has discontinued the American Airlines Glider.
Attached Images  
Old 01-22-2003, 12:30 AM
  #6  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

thanks contempo,
but I just found some at Hobby Lobby. It was the 3rd one I visited and 8th store I went to. I got really lucky. I will keep your info though because I am going to tell some of my local buddies about them and I'm sure that they'll definately be interested.

Thanks again

Michael
Old 01-22-2003, 02:05 AM
  #7  
blvdbuzzard
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,704
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

yes it is true that they stopped making the United Airlines one. They now call it US Airforce or something like that. I think it will fly very well if you can keep the weight down below 14 oz with EDF-50's. With two small props the weight can climb to 17oz.

Dru.
Old 01-23-2003, 03:58 PM
  #8  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

dows anyone have ones they have built they would be interested in selling? Id love to get one, they sound fun

EDIT:gonna buy one from styrojet.com next week..yay!
Old 01-27-2003, 06:09 PM
  #9  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default paint?

what kind of paint is everyone using to painting the jets with?
Old 01-28-2003, 12:07 AM
  #10  
Hawker1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dover, DE,
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Here's mine

I too am using two Speed 280s and vary between 6 and 8 cell packs. I've modified mine in a few areas...

1. Wing now sits 1/2" lower in wing saddle.
2. Scale balsa tail and horiz stab made with 1/8" balsa sheets.
3. I use two servos for elevon controls (works great!).
4. 2.25" cut off long nose section - 3.75" added to aft of wing
for more scale appearance.

All in all about 1 week of work that I think really paid off. Paint is
Testors spray paint (enamel) and works very well. Decals are
from the kits themselves which I bought through
www.towerhobbies.com Just do a search for Life-Like Gliders and
you'll find them. Only $8.39 each (I have 6!).

Life-Like has not discontinued them. They are still producing both
the American Airlines version and the USAF version (I've been told
this too comes with the AA decals, so go figure).

The 727 I made is very pitch sensitive but if I dial out some of
the elevator deflection it should work well. Just haven't gotten
around to it yet. I'm having too much fun with this one...



Some flying pics...







even more pics here...
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/hawker/pics/757/

To get to the other planes I've made just click on the folders here
Hawker's Planes
Old 01-28-2003, 12:27 AM
  #11  
Hawker1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dover, DE,
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

I forgot to mention how it flies on the two Speed 280s and props.

ROCK SOLID! It was so great the first time I launched it. I was expecting it to be a handful. Well, I gave it full throttle and threw it into a 5 knot wind. It just left my hand so easily and flew at a slight climb just so stable! I was shocked! I went to turn (using the elevons) and again, it was so easy to fly! I don't think I'll be putting EDF-50s on this one like I thought I would. If anything I may try geared 280s, or even 400s for alot more power. It flies well now but I want it to climb at a nice steep angle. Right now it doesn't. Just gentle climbs. So far 4 successful flights.

AUW is 18 oz. If any of you have questions just ask.

In the 5th and 6th pictures above that is Dover AFB, Delaware in the background (where I'm currently stationed). Look hard and you'll see lots of C-5 tails.)
Old 01-28-2003, 12:32 AM
  #12  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

Hawker-

those Dahs and 727 conversions look good. What did you use yo fabricate the dash engines and the 727 tail section? It looks like you did it from scratch?

Please explain, im dying to find ot I want to do a the 757 and the 727, Im fascinated
Old 01-28-2003, 12:37 AM
  #13  
Hawker1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dover, DE,
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

Just cheap blue foam. I bought several 2" thick sheets, and of course 50 feet of the 1/4" fan fold foam (we call it F3 on Ezone). I'm making a Eurofighter Typhoon now. Should be awesome.

I'd say do a 757 first and gain experience with it. Then try the others. I just search the net for 3-view drawings, print them out scaled up to the size I want (based on the 3" diameter 757 fuselage), and then start cutting and sanding as needed until I have the shape I want.

Oh yeah, light weight spackle at Walmart really helps cover up dings and stuff as well. It's called DAP - Fast and Light in a white container with a red lid and black label on it.

Good luck. Always post pics of what you are doing too, makes it more fun for everyone.

If you'd like to buy your plane for lots of money, get the styrojet. Otherwise just go to a hobby shop and buy all the gear you need, and buy the plane at Tower Hobbies for $8.39. Of course paying the Styrojet people is probably easy for a first timer. I decided to go my own way however, based on 23 years in R/C. Just was easier for me (and cheaper).
Old 01-28-2003, 01:04 AM
  #14  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my pics

Here's some pics of my project. I cut out a section of the rear fusalage and hollowed it out for the servo's. Then I am using the cut foam to make an access hatch to the servo's one pic has the hatch open the other shows it closed. I wanted to try and use the stock tail section so I epoxied plastic knives to the underside of the horizontal to add strength. Hopfully the paint will hide these when the project is finished, hopefully the top of the plane will keep the entire original outline. I am also going with the 280 motor set up. I will keep you guys posted. Let's see others pics.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	50754_20207.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	28263  
Old 01-28-2003, 01:05 AM
  #15  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2nd pic

2nd pic
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	50755_20207.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	28264  
Old 01-28-2003, 03:07 AM
  #16  
Nik
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Painted Post, NY
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

Can you tell me what batterie you need for the styrojet?

CU
Old 01-28-2003, 02:48 PM
  #17  
contempo
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Batteries

I use an 8 cell pack (9.6 volt) square pack configuration of 600AE cells. I use a Jeti 18 speed controller.

The direct word from Life-Like Products is that they have discontinued the American Airlines Glider.

If anyone wants just the glider I can sell them at $5.00 + shipping.
Old 01-28-2003, 03:04 PM
  #18  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

I am interested in getting 2 if you have them. I already have a Hitec 3 channel with elevon mixing. I have some servo's laying around as well. Im sure I can get one in the air as well.

Please email

matt
Old 01-28-2003, 06:00 PM
  #19  
Sawyer692-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 692
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

contempo- I'll take two also! Email me and we'll work out the details. How many do you have?
Old 01-30-2003, 03:48 AM
  #20  
Hawker1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dover, DE,
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

Contemp,

That seems correct but yet they are still making them. I spoke to Life-Like a few weeks ago and they are still producing them at their Chicago plant. Under both the AA paint scheme and as the "Air Force Glider," both of which come with the American Airlines decals.

So go figure. It's still going strong. They said the American version might go away in the future but not the Air Force one, which still includes those stickers. So I think we are safe for a while.

$5.00 from you? That's cheaper AND closer (I'm in Delaware). How much for shipping 2 or 3 of them? I've got all mine from Tower Hobbies but at $8.39 from them and $5.00 from you, your deal is much better.

One thing I like about Tower is if it arrives broken at all they will ship a brand new one free and let you keep the broken one. So that's one nice thing.
Old 02-04-2003, 05:09 PM
  #21  
Sawyer692-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 692
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

If I use EDF-75s, should I get the four-blade or six-blade version?
Old 02-04-2003, 06:21 PM
  #22  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

contemp your web page is down I had the urge to order one and I couldnt lol
Old 02-04-2003, 06:40 PM
  #23  
contempo
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Try Again

Seems okay now. My IP has been doing crazy things lately.
Old 03-13-2003, 04:47 PM
  #24  
Sawyer692-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 692
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 757 jetliner.

Well I finally got mine in the air last night. First couple of throws resulted in a hard left bank into the ground. After adjusting the elevons to compensate, I realized the problem....The foam at the trailing edge of the right wing was bent downward acting as an aileron. I broke is loose and taped into a flat position and problem solved! I used two Graupner 280 with GWS 5x3 props. This sucker scoots right along and hardly makes any noise at all. I set the cg at 3 and 3/8 inch.
Old 03-13-2003, 04:55 PM
  #25  
contempo
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Styrojet w/ ailerons

Experimenting with ailerons. Really improves roll rate. May try mixing flaperons / spoilerons next. I tried a new battery pack (8cell kan950 nimh) worked great for 5 minutes on the bench before the motors (Graupner race 280) died.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.