Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft
 Help a beginner with some decisions, PLEASE >

Help a beginner with some decisions, PLEASE

Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Help a beginner with some decisions, PLEASE

Old 10-29-2007, 05:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a beginner with some decisions, PLEASE

Ok so here's the deal: I'm a heli pilot, been into heli's for a year now. I never started with airplanes, just jumped right into the helicopters... Now I find myself playing with foamies on Realflight and REALLY wanting one, and I'm (almost)ready to buy.

All the guys I fly with have Flatout Reflections, and like them. After doing some reading on this forum, I see that not many people will recommend a Flatout model. I have never seen ANY other foamie in person, so this is all I have for experience thus far.

I'm considering the Airfoilz Yak, or the Bipe. So far, I think I'm leaning towards the Yak cause the Bipe looks alot harder to build, and to be honest, I suck with this sort of thing.

I want to: hover, learn harrier rolls and flat spins, etc., fly outside in light breezes, not spend more than $300 except to buy extra batteries, not build a foamy from scratch(plans, no kit)

This is the deal I'm considering: http://www.3dxhobbies.com/Airfoilz_Y...yak54combo.htm and here come the questions:

1) Should I just suck it up and get the Bipe??? OR are there some other foamies I should be considering???
2) Are the combo deals on 3dx a good setup and price? Or should I just buy everything seperately???
3) If I should buy the Yak or Bipe, which motor/esc combo should I choose, and WHY???
4) Are there any build guides that will help a newbie with NOT screwing up his first foamie build

I've searched a bit and cant seem to find definitive answers for these questions, so I'm relying on YOU RCU members to help me make my decision