Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

GWS Corsair servos

Old 12-03-2007, 09:57 PM
  #1  
jeffie8696
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,299
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default GWS Corsair servos

I would like some opinions on what servos to use on my new Corsair. the instructions call for a servo in each wing. I plan to keep it as light as possible to give it good handling qualities. Brushless and Lipos of course. Would be happy to entertain reccomendations there also.I have a 15 amp speed controller.and 2 cell 750 lipo.
Old 12-03-2007, 10:14 PM
  #2  
3DSAVAGE
 
3DSAVAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nowhere, FL
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

gws naro servos. u could also use stuff like hs 56's too
Old 12-03-2007, 11:38 PM
  #3  
R/C FLYR
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maplewood, MN
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

Hi, if you have the wires in the kit, you can run them through the wing channels and use the servo mount in the middle of the wing, and only use one servo instead of two. My corsair has that setup and it works just fine. good luck and happy flying! R/C FLYR
Old 12-03-2007, 11:47 PM
  #4  
jeffie8696
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,299
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

My kit shows the 2 servo setup. I was hoping someone would be able to recomend the best quality servos for this function. I am using Great Planes servos on my Slow Stick and I am not sure if I want to use the same in the high dollar Corsair.
Old 12-03-2007, 11:53 PM
  #5  
R/C FLYR
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maplewood, MN
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

HS-55 Hitec servos will do just fine, by the way, i don't know where you bought your GWS corsair, but at my lhs i paid only $29.75 NPS R/C FLYR
Old 12-04-2007, 12:33 AM
  #6  
jeffie8696
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,299
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

I had the Tower Hobby coupon! Used it good. Wish they would do that again. I meant high dollar because I plan to put premium components in it.
Old 12-04-2007, 09:27 PM
  #7  
Smooth Spanky
 
Smooth Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

I have 4 HS55's in mine and they seem to work just fine.

Good luck,

Smooth
Old 12-05-2007, 05:50 PM
  #8  
R/C FLYR
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maplewood, MN
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

You could use 3 servos also 2 for ailerons, and 1 for elevator, this bird does not need a rudder, if flies just fine without it, anything to save some green for other projects, you could also fly this plane with only 2 servos, one for ailerons one for elevator, mine has this setup with a himax outrunner and 3-cell lipo, performance is very good.... good luck with whatever way you go with it...... R/C FLYR
Old 12-05-2007, 08:46 PM
  #9  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: GWS Corsair servos

I used GWS Naro servos in mine. Never a moments problem 4 years ago. I agree on the rudder comment. Unless you need yaw control for scale like turning, bank and yank will work fine.
Word of caution, don't try to fly too slow. The wing drop is pretty dramatic, otherwise you will love flying it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.