Go Back  RCU Forums > FPV (First-Person View) RC Aircraft Flying and RC Vehicle Operation. > FPV Racing
Reload this Page >

FPV Vintage pylon racing -FPV Combat --checking interest level

Community
Search
Notices
FPV Racing Discussion of FPV racing, setups, airframes and courses.

FPV Vintage pylon racing -FPV Combat --checking interest level

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 07:59 PM
gittarpikk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FPV Vintage pylon racing -FPV Combat --checking interest level

Hey guys , hadn't posted much of late...been sort of waiting til technology ripened and pilots get tired of the boring long range flying-or- quadracers that are looking for some fun in fix wing FPV competition.

Little history...

I've been flying FPV since maybe 2009 with maybe 50 or so vids on YouTube.
My cams were pretty crappy up til about 3-4 years ago and I was doing some fun formation flying with other LOS pilots at the field (challenging field with close tree-walls in all direction). Even did a few bouts of Combat with 300 size combat planes (myself flying fpv). Of late another club member was an old Quarter midget pylon racer (in the 70's) ad wanted to start some pylon competition. I being interested in Vintage pylon as well as FPV put together a few profile pylon racers (Rivets) and slapped an all in one cam on it since they were small and fast (60 mph).
I prefer head tracking as I have that in my FS Dominators but these were too small for head tracking.. I also usually fly with a triversity GS and repeat it on a 25MW/omni to my goggles , but this time I was just flying all omni clovers and 25MW.

Since I had flown the course as an imaginary one over the years, the poles were even easier and I could hold the altitude to about 20' above the ground . The other LOS pilot had trouble flying lower than 40-50' . I had the definite advantage of being able to fly a tighter course but he had a tad faster plane due to slightly less drag.