Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Great Planes/Futaba

Futaba T10J / R3008SB/FHSS Flap setup with two servos

Old 06-24-2015, 03:25 AM
  #1  
highboy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Skovlunde, DENMARK
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba T10J / R3008SB/FHSS Flap setup with two servos

Hello guys

I have been trying to set up flaps on my plane for at few days now, but i can't figure it out.

I have the following configuration :

Transmitter : Futaba T10J
Receiver : R3008SB/FHSS (mode 1 / eight channel configuration)
Plane :Multiplex Fun Cup

1 Servo for Elevator
1 Servo for Rudder
1 Servo for Tow release
2 servos for Alirons
2 Servos for Flaps
1 Throttle

I have everything working but the flaps, so any help getting it fixed would be welcome 8-)
Old 06-24-2015, 06:51 AM
  #2  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

What is your exact difficulty? You can set up flaps on a single channel with a "Y" harness, or set up flaps on two channels with a mixer. Would you please explain what you're trying to do and what is the difficulty you're having?
Old 06-24-2015, 10:08 AM
  #3  
highboy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Skovlunde, DENMARK
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hello again
What i am trying to do is to set up flaps with on two channels and bind them to a three way button (E)

I have one servo in channel 6 (this is working as supposed, and i have the second one in channel 5 (Would like channel 5 to mimic channel 6)
I hope this make some sense.

I am comming from a Multiplex evo 9 and the way you do things on the Futaba is very different.
Old 06-25-2015, 05:44 AM
  #4  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You can go into the Aux-Ch option in the menu system and set channel 5 to be activated by the same switch you're using for channel 6.
Old 06-27-2015, 01:31 PM
  #5  
highboy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Skovlunde, DENMARK
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ahhh that did the trick, thanks a lot m8.
Old 05-28-2020, 11:37 AM
  #6  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi All,
I am trying to set up for flaperons. I have set up by plugging the left aileron into ail ch 1 and the right into aux ch 6.
I then went into the T10J and activated the flaperons and then designated the flap switch in aux 6.
Everything works but the functions are reversed. The aileron stick operates the flaps and the flap switch operates the ailerons.
I tried swapping the aileron plugs but that just reversed the aileron direction. (right roll to left roll)
Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks for your thoughts!

Will
Old 05-28-2020, 02:01 PM
  #7  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Take a look at page 106-107 of the manual:

10J.pdf

You can adjust the the direction of travel in the flaperon menu.
Old 05-28-2020, 05:37 PM
  #8  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the hit Bill.
I wish it was that easy. It's not the direction of travel that's the problem. The switching is reversed. The aileron stick is controlling the flaps instead of the ailerons.
I've gone through pages 106 - 107 and have hooked and programmed everything as directed. It mentions nothing about my problem that I could see.
Old 05-28-2020, 07:51 PM
  #9  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

OK, I need a little more info. Exactly how are you controlling the flaps. You mention a "flap switch". Describe exactly how you are doing things.

The flaps should be controlled by the knob (VR) in the center front of the TX.
Old 05-28-2020, 08:12 PM
  #10  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

From what I understand, the flaps are controlled by the VR rotary knob if the flaps are separate from the ailerons. In my case, I am using the ailerons also as flaps so they are electronically mixed together. The left aileron is plugged into ch1 and the right aileron is plugged into ch6. That enables me to activate the "flaperons" so that the ailerons function normally but they both can also vector downwards to create the flap effect but while they are down, they can still work as ailerons.
I am using Mode 2 so the ailerons are operated by the right stick gimbal going left and right. The flaps are being operated by "Switch C" which is the 3 way switch just above the aileron stick.
I hope that makes sense.
Old 05-28-2020, 09:17 PM
  #11  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Then you are using Flaperon+Air brake. The adjustments are then done in the air brake menu. Both Flaperon and Air brake need to be active. If using just flaperon alone you use the VR knob to adjust the deflection down. Then you do the adjustments in the flaperon menu.

Old 05-28-2020, 09:46 PM
  #12  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I believe I have both activated. I've got the flaperons on "ACT" and the airbrakes on "INH". The only other option on the airbrakes Mix is "Off".








Old 05-28-2020, 10:00 PM
  #13  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Airbrake has to be ON, you have to select the Mix to ON.
Old 05-28-2020, 10:29 PM
  #14  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I don't know why but the airbrake mix gives me only 2 choices. Either INH or Off.
I did make some percentage corrections in the flaperon screen. Flap 1 was at -100% and I changed it to +100%. Flap 2 was already at +100%.
Also, both ailerons were at +100% left and +100% right. I changed aileron 2 to -100% left and -100% right.
Now, everything is working as it's supposed to. I don't know why it's working with the airbrakes mix on INH but that's the only choice it gives me other than Off.

Last edited by Suprawill1; 05-28-2020 at 10:35 PM.
Old 05-29-2020, 09:09 AM
  #15  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Glad it is working now. I was leaning towards the settings for throw, etc. Are you adjusting in the Flaperon menu or the Air Brake Menu?
Old 05-29-2020, 09:58 AM
  #16  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I made most of the adjustments in the Flaperon menu. The only one I made in the Airbrake menu was the switch throw direction. I needed the Airbrakes on switch up and the flaps on switch down. It was opposite at first. Thank you for your assistance!
Old 05-29-2020, 01:45 PM
  #17  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 762
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Good to know. So in the end it was mostly just playing with the mixing amounts and directions. Glad it is working out for you.
Old 05-29-2020, 02:01 PM
  #18  
Suprawill1
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes, exactly.
The T10J is a very diverse radio. I learned a lot about it in the last couple days.
The following users liked this post:
FUTABA-RC (05-29-2020)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.