Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Great Planes/Futaba

Futaba Sbus questions on TF Giant P40 setup

Old 01-31-2016, 07:02 AM
  #1  
TampaRCGuy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (282)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba Sbus questions on TF Giant P40 setup

Hi Bill,

I have a few questions on a Sbus and conventional setup on a TF Giant Scale P-40.

Current equipment:
Futaba R6208SB Sbus Rx
Futaba 12Z Tx
2 Futaba S9155 Digital servo's
2100 LiFe 6.6V batteries to power the radio system

The P-40 requires 2 aileron, 2 flap, 2 elevator servos, 1 throttle and 1 Channel for the Robart Electric retracts.

My plan is the following:

4 Futaba Sbus servo's, 2 on flap and 2 on elevator connected to the 6 way hub.(100-150 oz torque each servo)
2 Futaba S9155 servo's on the elevator, 1 Futaba 3151 on throttle, 1 S9155 on rudder, and the electric Robart retracts, all connected conventionally to the R6208SB rx. The retracts will have its own battery, possible shared with the ignition Life battery or 2nd rx battery.

Here are my questions:

Do I need a separate battery for the 6 way hub in the wing? Is the wire gauge coming off the Sbus port capable of handling the 4 100 + oz servo's in the wing without a battery connection?

The LiFe batteries have 2 connections off the battery. One idea is to run dual batteries, each battery making a connection to the rx (redundancy and parallel capacity) and running the 2nd line off each battery to the 6 way hub in the wing.

Since the hub only has 6 ports, 4 servo and 1 Sbus back to the rx, that leaves 1 port left. Can I run the Flaps off a standard Y harness out of the hub to free up a port? Will the 2 servo's still be adjustable individually?

Thanks and I appreciate your help.

Honestly, I am trying to avoid buying another 14 ch rx when I have the R6208SB available to use.

Evan
Old 02-01-2016, 07:21 AM
  #2  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RC Accessory View Post
Hi Bill,

I have a few questions on a Sbus and conventional setup on a TF Giant Scale P-40.

Current equipment:
Futaba R6208SB Sbus Rx
Futaba 12Z Tx
2 Futaba S9155 Digital servo's
2100 LiFe 6.6V batteries to power the radio system

The P-40 requires 2 aileron, 2 flap, 2 elevator servos, 1 throttle and 1 Channel for the Robart Electric retracts.

My plan is the following:

4 Futaba Sbus servo's, 2 on flap and 2 on elevator connected to the 6 way hub.(100-150 oz torque each servo)
2 Futaba S9155 servo's on the elevator, 1 Futaba 3151 on throttle, 1 S9155 on rudder, and the electric Robart retracts, all connected conventionally to the R6208SB rx. The retracts will have its own battery, possible shared with the ignition Life battery or 2nd rx battery.

Here are my questions:

Do I need a separate battery for the 6 way hub in the wing? Is the wire gauge coming off the Sbus port capable of handling the 4 100 + oz servo's in the wing without a battery connection?

The option is your's. You might want to use a heavy-duty extension between the receiver and hub if you're going with one batteyr pack.

The LiFe batteries have 2 connections off the battery. One idea is to run dual batteries, each battery making a connection to the rx (redundancy and parallel capacity) and running the 2nd line off each battery to the 6 way hub in the wing.

Since the hub only has 6 ports, 4 servo and 1 Sbus back to the rx, that leaves 1 port left. Can I run the Flaps off a standard Y harness out of the hub to free up a port? Will the 2 servo's still be adjustable individually?

If you have only one port left, but really need two, a "Y" connector will do the job. When you program for the bus, you're telling the servo which channel it's getting commands from. The bus has the same info train on all ports and the servos take what portion of the info train they need.

Thanks and I appreciate your help.

Honestly, I am trying to avoid buying another 14 ch rx when I have the R6208SB available to use.

Evan
See my replies in BOLD, above.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.