Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

R7014SB receiver

Old 12-07-2018, 08:25 AM
  #1  
DH71TIGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Altillac, France
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default R7014SB receiver

Hi ........... I wish to confirm before buying, the 'System Selection' required on a 18MZ for the R7014SB receiver. I need 13 channels for the model. The Tx options offered are FASTest 18CH and FASTest 12CH. What do I use to obtain my required 13 channels ?

Thank you in advance

Andrew

Last edited by DH71TIGER; 12-07-2018 at 02:44 PM.
Old 12-08-2018, 07:33 AM
  #2  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Use FASSTest 18. You will get 14 channels on the RX itself (hardwired ports) plus up to the full 18 your TX can do using S.Bus.
12-channel FASSTest is intended for stick banging 3D heli flying. You will not see any benefit using it on an airplane.
Old 12-11-2018, 08:37 AM
  #3  
DH71TIGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Altillac, France
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
Use FASSTest 18. You will get 14 channels on the RX itself (hardwired ports) plus up to the full 18 your TX can do using S.Bus.
12-channel FASSTest is intended for stick banging 3D heli flying. You will not see any benefit using it on an airplane.
Thank you for your prompt answer Bill ............. looking at the pictures of the R7014SB, I only see 12 dedicated servo ports (in normal vertical position). I have downloaded and printed the manual and see the horizontal ports labelled S.Bus DG2, S.Bus 2 and DG1, I presume that 2 of these ports are used to obtain the additional PWM channels to give the 14. Which ports are used ? the manual tells me hardly anything about setting up for 14 PWM channels.

Thank you in advance

Andrew Dunan
Old 12-12-2018, 03:16 PM
  #4  
jason
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,358
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I was about to post a similar question so I hope you don't mind me tagging it on here Andrew.

I just need to know when used in normal mode (non SBus) how many fully proportional channels does the R7014SB have? Like Andrew I need 13 channels so my trusty 6014HS's 12 won't cut it and I can't use one of the DG channels either.

Also if 14 are available how do you make them work as like Andrew says, the manual says nothing about it.


Thanks
Jason

Last edited by jason; 12-12-2018 at 03:23 PM.
Old 12-12-2018, 03:44 PM
  #5  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DH71TIGER View Post
Thank you for your prompt answer Bill ............. looking at the pictures of the R7014SB, I only see 12 dedicated servo ports (in normal vertical position). I have downloaded and printed the manual and see the horizontal ports labelled S.Bus DG2, S.Bus 2 and DG1, I presume that 2 of these ports are used to obtain the additional PWM channels to give the 14. Which ports are used ? the manual tells me hardly anything about setting up for 14 PWM channels.

Thank you in advance

Andrew Dunan
Hi - you get 12 full proportional channels using the ports 1-12. DG-1 and DG-2 are digital ON/OFF channels that are great for things like smoke, ignition kill, etc. Using S.Bus you can get the additional 6 PMW channels that your radio can do.

What are you setting up and what functions are you planning on having?
Old 12-12-2018, 03:46 PM
  #6  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jason View Post
I was about to post a similar question so I hope you don't mind me tagging it on here Andrew.

I just need to know when used in normal mode (non SBus) how many fully proportional channels does the R7014SB have? Like Andrew I need 13 channels so my trusty 6014HS's 12 won't cut it and I can't use one of the DG channels either.

Also if 14 are available how do you make them work as like Andrew says, the manual says nothing about it.


Thanks
Jason
As noted above. You get 12 proportional channels from the hard ports 1-12. You get 2 digital channels on DG-1 and DG-2. You can get s many proportional channels as your radio can do using S.Bus.
What 13 proportional controls do you need? Maybe I can make some suggestions.
Old 12-12-2018, 04:34 PM
  #7  
jason
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,358
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
As noted above. You get 12 proportional channels from the hard ports 1-12. You get 2 digital channels on DG-1 and DG-2. You can get s many proportional channels as your radio can do using S.Bus.
What 13 proportional controls do you need? Maybe I can make some suggestions.

Hi Bill,

the only two proportional channels I have are a gear door and I need end points so the DG channels are no good for that, the other ones a Jetronics electronic brake valve. I realise that should work of a DG channel but I have replaced the two position lever with a press button (found it hard when I moved from JR as I used the snap roll button for brakes) to the back right of the WC transmitter and it does not seem to move the DG channel although it does move others but only half travel. I guess you can't really help with this as I've altered it from standard.

Also on a side note I must have got my terminology mixed up because when I read the following statement I assumed it meant the 7014SB has 14 proportional channels.

"Futaba R7014SB FASST/FASSTest Rx 2.4GHz Receiver P-R7014SB
The R7014SB is Futaba's flagship receiver brimming with the specifications required in high end models. With 14 PWM channels its built to meet the demands of high-end modellers"

thanks
Jason
Old 12-18-2018, 05:30 AM
  #8  
DH71TIGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Altillac, France
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hello Bill,

Sorry for the delay in replying to your comment, I have had internet problems for a few days, one of the joys of living in rural france !
Welcome aboard to Jason ...........
The model I am building is a quarter scale MK IX Spitfire my preferred set up is as follows ........
Aileron 1 and 2, Elevator, Rudder, Flaps 1, 2, 3, 4. Throttle, Choke, Ignition, Main Gear, Tailwheel Steering .............. I know I could combine the rudder and tailwheel steering but as the R7014SB is specced as having 14 PWM channels, that was the reason for my original question.
I use a Powerbox Sparkswitch for the ignition, I do not know if it possible to use a digital only channel for this.
I quote Jason's extract from the Futaba spec ...................

"Futaba R7014SB FASST/FASSTest Rx 2.4GHz Receiver P-R7014SB
The R7014SB is Futaba's flagship receiver brimming with the specifications required in high end models. With 14 PWM channels its built to meet the demands of high-end modellers"
Old 12-18-2018, 08:02 AM
  #9  
modtron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chinnor, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 325
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Regardless of what is advertised - this is what is shown on the paperwork that comes with each 7014SB receiver .......



modtron
Oxford UK
Old 12-18-2018, 10:53 AM
  #10  
Silver Bullet
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bill, in message #2 of this thread, you state "12-channel FASSTest is intended for stick banging 3D heli flying. You will not see any benefit using it on an airplane." Is there any disadvantage to using this mode on an airplane?

Thanks,
Robert
Old 12-18-2018, 12:31 PM
  #11  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Silver Bullet View Post
Bill, in message #2 of this thread, you state "12-channel FASSTest is intended for stick banging 3D heli flying. You will not see any benefit using it on an airplane." Is there any disadvantage to using this mode on an airplane?

Thanks,
Robert
None. In fact, you will lose all telemetry aside from the RX pack voltage.
Old 12-18-2018, 12:35 PM
  #12  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by modtron View Post
Regardless of what is advertised - this is what is shown on the paperwork that comes with each 7014SB receiver .......



modtron
Oxford UK
Thanks for picking up my slack!. I have been busy this week and could not get to this fast enough.

Basically the information that is quoted by Jason is from the old Hobbico site, which contained misleading information regarding the channel counts. The 7014 is a 12+2 RX. Meaning 12 fully proportional channels plus 2 digital on/pff channels. Much like the 18MZ/18SZ are actually 16 proportional plus 2 digital channel transmitters. The DG1 and DG2 digital channels are great for smoke, ignition kills, lights, etc. anything you need to turn on or off and that do not require adjusting the throw on the channel.
Old 12-27-2018, 02:37 PM
  #13  
jason
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,358
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
Thanks for picking up my slack!. I have been busy this week and could not get to this fast enough.

Basically the information that is quoted by Jason is from the old Hobbico site, which contained misleading information regarding the channel counts. The 7014 is a 12+2 RX. Meaning 12 fully proportional channels plus 2 digital on/pff channels. Much like the 18MZ/18SZ are actually 16 proportional plus 2 digital channel transmitters. The DG1 and DG2 digital channels are great for smoke, ignition kills, lights, etc. anything you need to turn on or off and that do not require adjusting the throw on the channel.
It certainly is misleading. I just googled "Futaba 7014SB and 10 out of the 12 first page hits were saying its got 14 PWM channels including Amazon and Ripmax the Uk importers.

I have managed to sort mine out now though by correcting the wiring on the button switch I fitted (pinouts on the new switch were different) and all is working perfectly.
Old 12-27-2018, 05:58 PM
  #14  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

All the other sources picked up the original one from Hobbico. Plus Futaba at times refers to the DG channels as PMW. Sometimes I think things are lost in translation.

This is because "PMW" to most modelers means fully proportional. The DG channels are Pulse Width Modulation (PMW) but the programming in the TX only allows one end point or the other.

Last edited by FUTABA-RC; 12-27-2018 at 06:02 PM.
Old 01-12-2019, 09:39 AM
  #15  
DH71TIGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Altillac, France
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have been experimenting ............. I set my 18MZ up using 2 x R7008 SB receivers with one receiver set to CH 1 - 8 and the second receiver set to CH 9 -16. All seems to be working fine at the moment. I just wanted to share this with you, I have not tried this set up before.

I have ordered a R7014SB anyway, intended for another model. I will test with this one also ................

Thank you to all who have made contributions to this thread.

Take care all

Andrew
Old 01-12-2019, 12:08 PM
  #16  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Not sure what you plan to test. As it comes, the RX will have 12 fully proportional hard-wired ports and 2 DG on/off ports. 14 channels total.
Old 01-22-2019, 02:52 AM
  #17  
king bily
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bill, in message #2 of this thread, you state "12-channel FASSTest is intended for stick banging 3D heli flying. You will not see any benefit using it on an airplane." Is there any disadvantage to using this mode on an airplane?
Old 01-22-2019, 06:55 AM
  #18  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Yes. First it limits telemetry to only the RX pack.
Second it requires the use of digital servos'
It also limits you to 12-channels instead of 18.

Finally, why use something that offers no net benefit?
Old 02-17-2021, 05:04 AM
  #19  
Cfe7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 9
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hello Bill M,

Is the R7014SB receiver compatible with the TM-14 TX module?
I'm having problems linking the two together.
Old 02-17-2021, 07:50 AM
  #20  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cfe7 View Post
Hello Bill M,

Is the R7014SB receiver compatible with the TM-14 TX module?
I'm having problems linking the two together.

Yes it is.

First-set the RX mode to FASST
Then use the Multi FASST protocol setting in the System type menu of the TX.


Linking is done by turning the TX on and holding the TX antenna close to the RX antennas. Then hold the LINK button down on the RX while turning it on. It will blink red, then go solid green.

There are two LEDs near the antenna end of the RX. One in the MODE LED the other is LINK. Both will be green when the RX MODE is FASSTest and a signal is being received. Only the LINK LED will be green if the RX mode is FASST.


Old 02-17-2021, 12:38 PM
  #21  
Cfe7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 9
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
Yes it is.

First-set the RX mode to FASST
Then use the Multi FASST protocol setting in the System type menu of the TX.


Linking is done by turning the TX on and holding the TX antenna close to the RX antennas. Then hold the LINK button down on the RX while turning it on. It will blink red, then go solid green.

There are two LEDs near the antenna end of the RX. One in the MODE LED the other is LINK. Both will be green when the RX MODE is FASSTest and a signal is being received. Only the LINK LED will be green if the RX mode is FASST.

The RX is set to Fasst normal mode (and locked there). TX is set to Multi Fasst mode. When I try to link them the LINK LED blinks 2-3 times red, then 2 times green before it goes over to rapidly blinking red/green. After this LINK LED will blink green (slowly). I never get a solid green LED.
I missed something somewhere - didn't I?
Old 02-17-2021, 12:48 PM
  #22  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cfe7 View Post
The RX is set to Fasst normal mode (and locked there). TX is set to Multi Fasst mode. When I try to link them the LINK LED blinks 2-3 times red, then 2 times green before it goes over to rapidly blinking red/green. After this LINK LED will blink green (slowly). I never get a solid green LED.
I missed something somewhere - didn't I?
To confirm, when the power is on to the RX with the TX off you should see the MODE LED = OFF and the LINK LED = solid RED.
When you turn on the TX the MODE LED is still off, but the LINK LED Blinks green.

Correct?

If so this means the MODE is set to FASST but the RX is seeing a FASST signal but from a TX that it is not linked to.

I suggest making sure both TX and RX battery are fully charged, move away from strong WiFi signals in house (routers, etc.), and get the RX and TX antennas as close as possible.

Then with the TX already on (in you normal flying screen) Hold down the LINK button on the RX and turn on the RX. Only need to hold it for a few seconds. Once released it should go solid green. I always cycle power on both RX and TX after linking.




Last edited by FUTABA-RC; 02-17-2021 at 12:51 PM.
Old 02-17-2021, 01:41 PM
  #23  
Cfe7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 9
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Led status you decribe is correct.
It didn't help to move away from all noise sources in the house, so now I'm charging the RX battery.
3.9 V was maybe to low for this kind of RX - or should I instead plug in a 2 cell LiPo directly?
Old 02-17-2021, 01:51 PM
  #24  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,174
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cfe7 View Post
The Led status you decribe is correct.
It didn't help to move away from all noise sources in the house, so now I'm charging the RX battery.
3.9 V was maybe to low for this kind of RX - or should I instead plug in a 2 cell LiPo directly?

3.9 volts is very low. You can plug a 2S lipo in as long as any connected servos can handle that voltage.
Old 02-18-2021, 07:26 AM
  #25  
Cfe7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 9
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have 2 receivers of the 7014. Both have now been tested on 2 LiPo cells.
There is no binding possible. Both RX behave as described earlier.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.